
A Special Message
to Parents

Are your teenager’s 
vaccinations up-to-date?

Did You Know...?
w   Vaccinations can protect your teen from 

serious diseases;

w   Your teen may need vaccinations against  
many of these diseases to get a job or get  
into college;

w  VFC eligible children may receive vaccinations 
through 18 years of age;

w  Vaccines are usually more expensive for 
    children over 18 years of age;

w   Once your child is 19 years of age and 
considered an adult, insurance may not  
cover vaccinations.

For more information, call your doctor,  
local health department, pharmacy,  

or the Immunization Hotline:

1-800-275-0659
immunize.utah.gov
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The best way to stay healthy down the road.

VACCINATE
GRADUATEBEFORE YOU



What is Vaccinate
Before You Graduate?
Vaccinate Before You Graduate is a 
program that provides vaccination 
information to students and their 
parents in Utah middle and high 
schools. Vaccinating teens while they 
are still in school can get them caught 
up on their shots before getting a job, 
going to college or traveling abroad. 
These vaccinations can protect teens 
against many diseases that can cause 
serious health problems. Some Utah 
middle and high schools may provide 
immunizations at school. Check with 
the school nurse for more information. 

What should you do if you want 
your teen to be fully immunized?
Check your teen’s vaccination records or check with your doctor 
to be sure your teen has all the recommended vaccinations. If 
your teen needs vaccinations, contact your doctor, school nurse, 
pharmacy, or local health department to get them.

All children birth through 18 years of age in any of the 
following groups may qualify for a program called Vaccines for 
Children (VFC): those who do not have insurance; are enrolled 
in Medicaid; are American Indian/Alaskan Native; Enrolled 
in the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP); or whose 
insurance does not cover vaccinations. VFC eligible children or 
teens may be asked to pay a small fee to receive their vaccines. 
The fee may be waived if they are unable to pay. All Utah local 
health departments, community health centers and some private 
clinics are VFC providers.

What vaccinations are 
recommended for teens? 

All students are required by the Utah Immunization Rule to  
get immunized with certain vaccines before starting school  
or entering school. Your teen may have received some of these 
vaccines as part of the school requirement, but may need a 
"booster" (another dose of vaccine) to stay protected. If your 
teen hasn't already been fully vaccinated or needs recommended 
boosters, make sure he or she receives them before graduating 
from school. The following vaccinations are recommended  
or required:

w   Hepatitis A (Hep A) 
2 doses of hepatitis A vaccine are required for all students  
in Utah schools.

w   Hepatitis B (Hep B) 
3 doses of hepatitis B vaccine are required for all students  
in Utah schools.

w  Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR) 
2 doses of MMR vaccine are required for all students in  
Utah schools.

w  Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis (Tdap) 
1 dose of Tdap vaccine is required for 7th grade entry in  
Utah schools followed by Td or Tdap booster doses every  
10 years thereafter.

w  Varicella (Chickenpox) 
2 doses of chickenpox vaccine or history of disease is 
required for students entering 7th grade in Utah schools.

w  Meningococcal 
There are two types of meningococcal vaccines available. 
Meningococcal conjugate or MenACWY vaccine and 
Meningococcal B.  
 
Meningococcal Conjugate (MenACWY) Vaccine: 1 dose 
of MenACWY vaccine is required for students entering 7th 
grade in Utah schools. A booster dose is recommended 
at age 16. Teens who received MenACWY vaccine for the 
first time at age 13 through 15 years will need a one-time 
booster dose between the ages of 16 and 18 years. Teens 
who receive their first dose between 16 through 18 years of 
age only need one dose of MenACWY vaccine. 
 
Meningococcal B Vaccine: Based on individual health 
care provider decision 2 or 3 (depending on brand) doses 
of Meningococcal B is recommended for adolescents 16-23 
(preferably 16-18) years not at increased risk for bacterial 
meningitis infection.

w  Influenza (Flu) 
A yearly flu vaccine is recommended for all teens.

w  Human Papillomavirus (HPV) 
Depending on age at initial vaccination, 2 or 3 doses of 
HPV vaccine are recommended for all adolescents age 
11-12 years (can start at age 9 years) and through age  
18 years if not previously adequately vaccinated.

w  Pneumococcal                                                        
A single dose of pneumococcal conjugate vaccine is 
recommended for teens with serious diseases such as 
diabetes, leukemia, heart disease, lung disease, HIV 
infection, or AIDS.


