

VFC Provider Requirements

Thank you for your continued enrollment in the Utah Vaccines for Children (VFC) Program. Following is a checklist of items that are required for VFC provider compliance. For any additional questions, please call the Utah VFC Program at (801) 538-9450.

DAILY REQUIREMENTS

- Screen patients and document eligibility status at each immunization encounter for VFC eligibility.
- Administer VFC vaccine only to children 18 years of age or younger <u>and</u> who meet the requirements for at least one VFC-eligibility category.
- Not exceed the federal administration fee cap of \$20.72 per vaccine for non-Medicaid, VFC-eligible children and follow all guidelines of the VFC Funding Policy.
- Not deny administration of publicly purchased vaccine to any established patient whose parent, guardian, or individual of record is unable to pay the administration fee.*
- Offer all ACIP-recommended vaccines for your provider type and VFC population served.
- Comply with immunization schedules, dosages, and contraindications established by ACIP.**
- Maintain sufficient inventory to prevent using public vaccine for non-VFC eligible patients as well as
 ensuring availability for VFC-eligible patients. Borrowing between stocks is not allowed.
- Maintain all records related to VFC for a minimum of 7 years, or longer if required by law.
- Offer patients the most current Vaccine Information Statements each time a vaccine is administered, maintain administration records, and report clinically significant adverse events to the Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS).***
- Use only stand-alone or pharmaceutical units for vaccine storage. Dormitory-style units are never allowed under any circumstances.
- Maintain sufficient room in storage units to accommodate all needed vaccine during peak season without crowding.
- Clearly separate public and private vaccine stock.
- Store refrigerated vaccines at 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F) and frozen vaccines at -50°C to -15°C (-58°F to 5°F) at all times.
- Remove from storage unit and return all spoiled and expired public vaccine in accordance with Utah VFC Program policy.
- Store vaccines in original packaging in the middle of the storage unit, away from sides, top, and floor of the unit.
- Maintain appropriate measures to ensure vaccine storage units are not accidentally disconnected from the power supply.
- Record min/max temperatures once daily at the start of business each day the clinic is open; recording
 must include date, time, and name or initials of the person taking the reading and all hours that have
 elapsed since the last reading was taken.
- Take appropriate action and document all temperature excursions. The <u>Emergency Response</u>
 <u>Checklist</u> can be used to determine appropriate steps to take.
- Maintain a properly placed, certified, calibrated continuous monitoring and recording device that meets VFC requirements in all units storing VFC vaccine.
- Maintain one certified, calibrated continuous monitoring and recording device that meets VFC requirements as a back-up in the event of an emergency or malfunction.
- Submit to the <u>Utah Statewide Immunization Information System (USIIS)</u> within 14 days of
 administration detailed information regarding all administered doses of vaccines, regardless of patient
 age or eligibility status. Vaccine record submission will include specifics about the vaccine and eligibility
 category.
- Utilize the vaccine ordering, inventory, and doses administered modules in USIIS as part of vaccine accountability.

Operate in a manner that prevents fraud and abuse of the VFC program.

MONTHLY REQUIREMENTS

Take a physical, written inventory and reconcile inventory.

QUARTERLY REQUIREMENTS

Submit Doses Administered Reports by the 15th of the month after the quarter ends.

YEARLY REQUIREMENTS

- Review and update the provider <u>Vaccine Management Plan</u>. The document must be updated more frequently if any of the required information changes.
- January 1: VFC annual re-enrollment documents, including a complete and accurate provider profile, are due. Information about re-enrollment requirements is sent on the VFC list serv in the 4th quarter of the year.
- April 1: annual required training is due for the primary and back-up contact. Information about annual training requirements is sent on the VFC list serv in January.
- Participation in compliance site visits, including unannounced visits and other educational opportunities
 associated with VFC Program requirements. This may happen more frequently than once a year
 depending on VFC changes and specific provider needs.

AS NEEDED

- Notify the Utah VFC Program of changes in staff, prior to moving locations, changes in storage units, or closing.
- Update provider enrollment information if the number of children served changes, the status of the facility changes, or the number of providers changes during the calendar year.
- The Utah VFC Program or the provider may terminate the VFC agreement at any time. If the
 agreement is terminated, the provider must work with the VFC Program to return any unused vaccine
 within 30 days of termination or withdrawal from the program.

^{*} In addition to the above requirement, pharmacies, urgent care, and school vaccine clinics must serve all "walk-in" VFC-eligible children.

^{**} Unless, in the providers medical judgment, and in accordance with accepted medical practice, the provider deems such compliance to be medically inappropriate for the child; or the particular requirements contradict state law, including laws pertaining to religious and other exemptions.

^{***} As required by the National Childhood Vaccine Injury Act.