### School Entry Requirements



**Kindergarten Entry Requirements** 

# The following vaccines are required for students entering kindergarten:\*

- **5** DTP/DTaP/DT- 4 doses if 4th dose was given on/after the 4th birthday
- **4** Polio- 3 doses if 3rd dose was given on/after the 4th birthday
- 2 Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)
- **3** Hepatitis B
- **2** Hepatitis A
- 2 Varicella (Chickenpox)

#### Seventh Grade Entry Requirements

The following vaccines are required for students entering seventh grade:\*

1 Meningococcal

- **1** Tdap (*Tetanus/Diphtheria/acellular Pertussis*)
- 2 Varicella (Chickenpox)
- ${\bf 3} \text{ Hepatitis B}$

\*Proof of immunity to disease (s) can be accepted in place of vaccination only if a document is presented to the school from a healthcare provider stating the student previously contracted the disease.

**NOTE:** Human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine is recommended for routine vaccination at 11 or 12 years of age, but is not required for school entry in Utah. Influenza vaccine is also recommended, but not required for school entry.

**Kindergarten through grade 12** - ALL students, kindergarten through grade 12, are required to have two doses of the MMR vaccine.

## Where can I complete the online exemption education module?

To receive a Utah vaccination exemption form, a legally responsible individual of a child must complete the online education module, print the Utah vaccination exemption form and provide a signed copy to the school/early childhood program. The online education module is available on the Utah Immunization Program website www.immunize-utah. org. A link may also be available on the websites of local health departments, local education agencies, and other public health programs or organizations.

**NOTE:** In the event of an outbreak of any vaccine-preventable disease, children claiming any exemption will be excluded from school or early childhood programs as long as the outbreak lasts. This rule helps protect unvaccinated children from getting these diseases.

For more information, contact your health care provider, public health department or the Immunization Hotline at:

1-800-275-0659 or www.immunize-utah.org



# The Utah School Immunization Rule



### Utah Department of Health Immunization Program



Immunize for Healthy Lives!

### Early Childhood Program Requirements



#### Does my child have to be immunized to attend an early childhood program?

All children who attend school or any of the following early childhood programs are required by the Utah Immunization Rule for Students to provide proof of immunization, an exemption, or proof of immunity against a disease for which vaccination is required:

- Public, charter, and private (Kindergarten grade 12)
- Licensed child care centers
- Licensed Family Home Care
- Nursery or preschool located within a school
- Head Start Programs

Children attending early childhood programs are required to be appropriately immunized for age for the following vaccines:

- Diphtheria
- Tetanus
- Pertussis
- Polio
- Hib (not required after age 5 years)
- Pneumococcal Conjugate (not required after age 5 years)
- Measles
- Mumps
- Rubella
- Varicella
- Hepatitis A
- Hepatitis B

### **Ouestions and Answers**

#### How can I be sure that my child has all the required immunizations?

Follow the U.S. recommended immunization schedule and keep a written record for each child. Update vour child's record each time vaccines are given. Give a copy to your child's school or early childhood program at registration. Remember - you need written proof of all immunizations.

#### What information should be on students' immunization records?

#### Immunization records of students must show:

- information regarding each required vaccination that the student has received, including the date each vaccine was administered, and verified by a licensed healthcare provider, registered nurse, an authorized representative of a local health department, or a pharmacist.
- proof of immunity for any disease for which a vaccine is required if the student previously contracted the disease; and
- an exemption form identifying each required vaccination from which the student is exempt.

### What if I don't have a written record for my child?

Ask your healthcare provider, pharmacist, public clinic, Utah Statewide Immunization Information System (USIIS), or any school or early childhood program your child attended in the past if they have records. If you still can't find the records, your child will need to get the vaccines again.

#### What if my child had a vaccine too early or too late?

If your child received a vaccine too soon, the vaccine must be repeated. For example, a child who had the first MMR vaccine before the first birthday will need to get that vaccine again. If a vaccine dose is given late or a child is behind, the vaccine does not need to be started over.

For a complete childhood immunization schedule visit: www.immunize-utah.org

#### What about vaccines given outside the U.S.?

Vaccines given in another country are acceptable if the schedule is similar to the U.S. schedule. You will need a written record of all vaccines, including the dates all vaccines were given.

#### What is conditional enrollment?

A student who has not provided a school/early childhood program with a complete immunization record at the time of enrollment can attend the school on a conditional enrollment. Conditional enrollment is a period where the student's immunization record is under review by the school/early childhood program or for 21 calendar days after the day a school/early childhood program provides written notice to a student's legally responsible individual, in person or by mail.

Students who do not comply at the end of the conditional enrollment period must be excluded from attending the school/early childhood program until proper documentation of immunization records has been provided to the school/early childhood program.

#### What if my child previously had chickenpox disease or any diseases for which vaccination is required?

If your child has past history of disease for any of the required immunizations, you must provide the school/early childhood program with a written document signed by a healthcare provider as proof of immunity.

#### Can a child be exempted from the Utah Immunization **Rule for Students?**

Yes. There are three types of exemptions (medical, religious, and personal) allowed in Utah for students kindergarten through grade 12 and for children in early childhood programs. Completion of the online educational module or in-person consultation at a local health department must be completed for all types of exemptions. A copy of the Utah vaccination exemption form must be provided to the school or early childhood program official to place in the student's permanent file. Additional documentation from a licensed healthcare provider is required for a medical exemption.

**NOTE:** Rotavirus and influenza vaccines are also recommended. but not required, for children in early childhood programs.