#### **School Entry Requirements**



#### Kindergarten through Sixth Grade Entry Requirements:\*

- **5** DTaP- 4 doses if 4th dose was given on/after the 4th birthday
- **4** Polio- 3 doses if 3rd dose was given on/after the 4th birthday
- 2 Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)
- 3 Doses of Hepatitis B
- **2** Doses of Hepatitis A
- 2 Doses of Varicella (Chickenpox)

#### Seventh through Twelfth Grade Entry Requirements:\*

- 1 Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine
- 1 Tdap (Tetanus/Diphtheria/acellular Pertussis)
- 2 Varicella (Chickenpox)
- **3** Hepatitis B
- 2 Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR)
- 4 Polio
- 2 Hepatitis A
- 5 DTaP

\*Proof of immunity due to a previous infection with measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), chickenpox, or hepatitis A can be accepted in place of vaccination.

**NOTE:** Human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine is recommended for routine vaccination at 11 or 12 years of age, but it is not required for school entry in Utah. Both influenza and COVID-19 vaccines are recommended for children 6 months of age and older. However, these vaccines are not required for school entry.



Form 10-04-04 Rev. 4/25

## The Utah School Immunization Rule



Utah Department of Health and Human Services Immunization Program

Immunize for Healthy Lives

For more information, contact your health care provider, public health department, pharmacy, or the Immunization Hotline at:

**NOTE**: In the event of an outbreak of any vaccine-preventable disease, children claiming any exemption will be excluded from school or early childhood programs as long as the outbreak lasts. This rule helps protect unvaccinated children

from getting these diseases.

1-800-275-0659 or www.immunize.utah.gov

#### Early Childhood Program Requirements:



## Does my child have to be immunized to attend an early childhood program?

All children who attend school or any of the following early childhood programs are required by the Utah Immunization Rule for Students to provide proof of immunization, an exemption, or proof of immunity against MMR, varicella (Chickenpox) or Hepatitis A:

- Public, charter, and private (Kindergarten grade 12)
- Licensed childcare centers
- Licensed Family Home Care
- Nursery or preschool located within a school
- Head Start Programs

#### Children attending early childhood programs are required to be appropriately immunized for age for the following vaccines

Measles

• Mumps

Rubella

Varicella

Hepatitis A

- Diphtheria
- Tetanus
- Pertussis
- Polio
- Hib
- Pneumococcal Conjugate 
  Hepatitis B

#### **Questions and Answers:**

# What information should parents or legal guardians provide to the school or early childhood program?

The following information must be provided to the school or early childhood program:

- Documentation of each required vaccination the student has received, including the date each vaccine was administered, verified by a licensed healthcare provider, registered nurse, authorized representative of a local health department, or pharmacist.
- Proof of immunity due to a previous infection, if the student was previously infected with measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR), chickenpox, or hepatitis A. This can be accepted in place of vaccination.
- An exemption form identifying each required vaccination from which the student is exempt, if the parent or legal guardian of the student is requesting an exemption.

#### What if I don't have a written immunization record for my child?

Ask your healthcare provider, pharmacist, public clinic, or the Utah Statewide Immunization Information System (USIIS). You may also contact the schools or early childhood programs your child has attended. If no records are found, your child will need to be vaccinated again to meet the requirements.

## What if I don't have a written immunization record for my child?

Schools and early childhood programs can conditionally enroll a child who does not have a complete immunization record. The conditional enrollment period is 30 calendar days. During this time, the child can attend school.

Parents or legal guardians must provide the missing immunization documentation to the school or early childhood program within this period. The school or early childhood program must also inform Parents or legal guardians of what is missing from the child's immunization record.

# What if my child previously had chickenpox disease or other diseases for which vaccination is required?

If a child has immunity due to a previous infection with measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), chickenpox, or hepatitis A, an immunity document from a healthcare provider must be provided to the school or early childhood program.

This document must include positive serologic (titer) test results and a signed statement from a healthcare provider confirming that, based on the positive laboratory test results, the student does not need the MMR, varicella, or hepatitis A vaccines.

#### Can a child be exempted from the Utah Immunization Rule for Students? Where can I complete the online exemption education module?

Yes. There are three types of exemptions in Utah: medical, religious, and personal. To receive a Utah vaccination exemption, a legally responsible individual must complete the online education module at immunize.utah.gov or attend an in-person consultation at a local health department. The completed exemption form must be provided to the school or early childhood program.

For a medical exemption from the required immunizations, a completed Utah vaccination exemption form AND a written statement signed by a licensed healthcare provider must be provided to the school or early childhood program.

**NOTE:** Rotavirus, COVID-19, and influenza vaccines are also recommended, but not required, for children in early childhood programs.

For detailed information, refer to the Utah Immunization Rule for Students R396-100 at immunize.utah.gov/utah-immunization-rule/.

Form 10-04-04 Rev. 4/25