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INTRODUCTION  
 

The Utah Immunization Program is pleased to provide you with the Utah Immunization Guidebook for 

Schools, Early Childhood Programs, and Healthcare Providers. This guidebook is designed to clarify 

Utah’s immunization statutes and rules for students, which are included in Appendix A. It outlines each 

required vaccine and the corresponding schedule, including the minimum intervals between doses. The 

appendices also include frequently asked questions and sample forms to assist in implementing the 

requirements. 

 

Since the implementation of Utah’s immunization rule for students, consistent requirements have helped 

protect children attending Utah schools and early childhood programs from many vaccine-preventable 

diseases. In the past, these diseases caused significant illness and death. The success of the 

immunization rule for students is the direct result of strong collaboration among school and early childhood 

program personnel, school nurses, healthcare professionals, local health departments, statewide 

immunization coalitions, pharmacies, and parents. 

 

The Utah Immunization Program recognizes that immunization schedules are complex and often require 

time and effort to ensure Utah’s children are adequately protected from vaccine-preventable diseases. The 

Utah Statewide Immunization Information System (USIIS) is a free, confidential, web-based information 

system that contains immunization histories for Utah residents of all ages.  USIIS consolidates 

immunization records from multiple providers into one centralized record. Schools and early childhood 

programs can enroll in USIIS and benefit from its many features, such as determining whether a child’s 

vaccines are current, due, or overdue. For more information, visit the USIIS website at 

https://immunize.utah.gov/usiis/ or call the Utah Immunization Program at 801-538-9450. 

 

We appreciate your continued support of the immunization rule for students and your dedication to Utah’s 

children. If you have any questions regarding immunization requirements or this guidebook, please call the 

Utah Immunization Program at 801-538-9450 or email Nasrin Zandkarimi at nzandkar@utah.gov. 
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Diphtheria, tetanus, acellular pertussis (DTaP) 
A student enrolling in a Utah early childhood program or in kindergarten through 12th grade must be 
immunized with the diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis (DTaP) vaccine.* 

 
Five doses of the DTap vaccine are required. The first, second, and third doses must be administered at 
least four weeks apart. The fourth dose must be given at least six months after the third dose. 
 

The fourth dose may be given as early as age 12 months if at least six months have elapsed since the 
third dose. However, for auditing purposes only, the fourth dose need not be repeated if given at least 
four months after the third dose. The fourth and fifth dose must be administered a minimum of six months 
apart. The fifth dose (booster dose) is required before the student enters kindergarten.  

 

Dose 5 is not necessary if dose 4 was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after 
dose 3. 

 
A student age 7-18 years not fully vaccinated** with DTaP should receive 1 dose of Tdap as part of the 
catch-up series (preferably the first dose); if additional doses are needed, use Td or Tdap. 

 

*Children enrolled in early childhood programs must be immunized with the DTaP vaccine according 
to their age. The number of required doses varies by the child’s age and the time since their last 
vaccination.  
 
** Fully vaccinated = 5 valid doses of DTaP OR 4 valid doses of DTaP if dose 4 was administered at age 4 
years or older. 
 

Note: ACIP and AAP both recommend that children receive no more than 6 doses of diphtheria and 
tetanus toxoids (e.g., DT, DTaP, DTP) before the seventh birthday because of concern about 
adverse reactions, primarily local reactions.  
 
 
For DTaP, Td, and Tdap catch-up guidance for children ages 4 months through 18 years, see the 
next few pages. 

 

 Shaded boxes indicate the vaccine can be given during shown age range. 

Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis 
Recommended Immunization Schedule 

DTaP #3 DTaP #2 DTaP #1 DTaP #5 Tdap 

Birth 2 months   4 months       6 months   12 months  15 months  18 months   2 years 4-6 years 11-12 years  

DTaP #4 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Children 4 Months through 6 Years of Age Diphtheria-, Tetanus-, and Pertussis-
Containing Vaccines: DTaP

1
 

Table #1- The table below provides guidance for children whose vaccinations have been delayed. Start with the child’s age and information 
on previous doses (previous doses must be documented and must meet minimum age requirements and minimum intervals between doses).   
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If 15 months of age or 

older, give Dose 4

(DTaP)  today4 
 

4 through 6 years of age4,5 

 
 

  
No dose today 

  

 

1Vaccine information: DTaP–Administer to children 6 weeks through 6 years of age without a contraindication or precaution to diphtheria, tetanus, or pertussis vaccine. 
DTaP products include Daptacel, Infanrix, Pediarix, Pentacel, Vaxelis, Kinrix, and Quadracel. Use the correct product based on the approved age indications. DT–

Administer to children 6 weeks through 6 years of age with a contraindication to pertussis vaccine.  

2 Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated. 

3 Dose 4 maybe administered as early as age12 months, provided at least 6 months have elapsed since Dose 3. 

4 Vaxelis should not be used for either Dose 4 or Dose 5. 

5 Dose 5 is not necessary if dose 4 was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after Dose 3. 

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger—United States, 2024. 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Children 4 Months through 6 Years of Age 

Diphtheria-, Tetanus-, and Pertussis Containing Vaccines: DTaP
1 
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At least one dose 
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No dose today 

1Vaccine information: DTaP–Administer to children 6 weeks through 6 years of age without a contraindication or precaution to diphtheria, tetanus, or pertus-

sis vaccine. DTaP products include Daptacel, Infanrix, Pediarix, Pentacel, Vaxelis, Kinrix, and Quadracel. Use the correct product based on the approved age 

indications. DT–Administer to children 6 weeks through 6 years of age with a contraindication to pertussis vaccine.  

2 Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated. 

3 Dose 4 maybe administered as early as age12 months, provided at least 6 months have elapsed since Dose 3. 

4 Vaxelis should not be used for either Dose 4 or Dose 5. 

5 Dose 5 is not necessary if dose 4 was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after Dose 3. 



SECTION  1  INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

Page 4 

Catch-Up Guidance for Children 7 through 9 Years of Age 

Tetanus-, Diphtheria-, and Pertussis-Containing Vaccine: Tdap/Td
1
 

Table #2- The table below provides guidance for children whose vaccinations have been delayed. Start with the child’s age and 
information on previous doses (previous doses must be documented and must meet minimum age requirements and minimum inter-
vals between doses). Use this table in conjunction with table 2 of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule 
for Ages 18 Years or Younger, found at https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-catch-up.html. 

1For persons 7–9 years of age who receive a dose of Tdap, the routine  adolescent Tdap dose should be administered at age 11–12 years.  

2Tdap may be administered regardless of the interval since the last tetanus-and diphtheria-toxoid-containing vaccine. 

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger—United States, 2024. 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-age.html 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Children 7 through 9Years of Age 

Tetanus-, Diphtheria-, and Pertussis-Containing Vaccines: Tdap/Td
1
 

1 For persons 7–9 years of age who receive a dose of Tdap, the routine adolescent Tdap dose should be administered at age 11–12.  

2 Tdap may be administered regardless of the interval since the last tetanus- and diphtheria-toxoid-containing vaccine.  

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger—United States, 2024. 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-age.html. 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/downloads/job-aids/tdap-1.pdf 
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The table below provides guidance for children whose vaccinations have been delayed. Start with the child ’s age and information on 
previous doses (previous doses must be documented and must meet minimum age requirements and minimum intervals between 
doses). Use this table in conjunction with table 2 of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 
Years or Younger, found at https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-catch-up.html. 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Children 10 through 18 Years of Age 

Tetanus-, Diphtheria-, and Pertussis-Containing Vaccines: Tdap/Td 
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1Given at 10 years of age or older. 
2If  the previous Tdap dose(s) was administered before the 10th birthday, then a dose of Tdap is recommended 
now. 

3Or Tdap administered at 9 years of age or younger. 
4Or Tdap administered at 9 years of age or younger. 

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for  Ages 18 Years or Younger—United 
States, 2024. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-age.html 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/downloads/job-aids/tdap-2.pdf 

Table #3- The table below provides guidance for children whose vaccinations have been delayed. Start with the child’s age and 
information on previous doses (previous doses must be documented and must meet minimum age requirements and minimum inter-
vals between doses).  Use this table in conjunction with table 2 of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule 
for Ages 18 Years or Younger, found at https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-catch-up.html. 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Children 10 through 18 Years of Age 

Tetanus-, Diphtheria-, and Pertussis-Containing Vaccines: Tdap/Td 
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1Given at 10 years of age or older. 

2If the previous Tdap dose(s) was administered before 10th birthday, then a dose of Tdap is recommended now. 

3Or Tdap administered at 9 years of age or younger. 

4The preferred age at administration for this dose is 11-12 years. However, if Tdap is administered at age 10 years, the Tdap 

dose may count as the adolescent Tdap dose. 

5The preferred age at administration for this dose is 11–12 years. However, if Tdap is administered at age 10 years, the Tdap 

dose may count as the adolescent Tdap dose.  

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger—United States, 2024.  

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-age.html 

The table below provides guidance for children whose vaccinations have been delayed. Start with the child’s age and 
information on previous doses (previous doses must be documented and must meet minimum age requirements and 
minimum intervals between doses). 
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Polio 
A student enrolling in a Utah early childhood program or in kindergarten through 12th grade must be 
immunized with the Polio vaccine.* 

Four doses of  inactivated polio vaccine (IPV) are required. The first three doses must be administered at least  
four weeks apart. The final dose must meet the following criteria: 

(a) It must be administered on or after the student’s fourth birthday-regardless of the number of 
previous doses; and 

(b) It must be given at least six months after the previous dose. 
 
If the third dose is administered on or after a student’s fourth birthday, a fourth dose is not required. 
 
The above schedule does not apply to polio vaccines given prior to August 7, 2009.  
The final dose of polio vaccine given PRIOR to August 7, 2009 will fall under the previous recommendation with a minimum 
interval of four weeks between doses three and four (the final dose does not require a minimum age of four years).  Reference: 
Polio (https://www.immunize.org/ask-experts/topic/polio/). 
 
If an immigrant infant has a record of 1 or 2 doses of OPV in their country of origin how many more doses of IPV 
should be given?  

Polio vaccine given outside the United States is valid if written documentation indicates that all doses were given after 6 weeks 
of age and the vaccine received was IPV or trivalent OPV (tOPV). Only trivalent polio vaccine counts toward the U.S. schedule. 
No doses of OPV given since April 1, 2016, count toward the U.S. polio vaccination schedule because, on that date, all 
countries routinely using tOPV switched to bivalent OPV. Please see other detailed answers concerning details on assessment 
of OPV doses by the date of administration. 

If both tOPV and IPV were or will be administered as part of a series, the total number of doses needed to complete the series 
is the same as that recommended for the U.S. IPV schedule. If the child is younger than 4 years of age a total of 4 doses of 
polio vaccine are recommended. If the child is currently 4 years of age or older, a total of 3 doses completes the series. A 
minimum interval of 4 weeks should separate doses in the series, with the final dose administered on or after the fourth 
birthday and at least 6 months after the previous dose. If only tOPV was administered, and all doses were given before 4 years 
of age, 1 dose of IPV should be given at 4 years of age or older, at least 6 months after the last tOPV dose. 

Reference: Last updated: July 23, 2023 (https://www.immunize.org/ask-experts/topic/polio/). 

How do I determine if doses of oral polio vaccine (OPV) administered outside the United States were trivalent OPV? 
Use the date of administration to make a presumptive determination of what type of OPV was received. Only trivalent doses 
count as valid for the U.S. polio vaccination schedule. Trivalent OPV was used throughout the world before April 2016. In April 
2016, all countries using tOPV switched to bivalent OPV (bOPV). In addition, some countries also use monovalent OPV 
(mOPV) during special vaccination campaigns. Doses recorded as bOPV or mOPV, and unspecified OPV doses noted on an 
immunization record as given during a vaccination campaign, do not count as valid doses for the U.S. polio vaccination 
schedule. You may count a record of an “OPV” dose as valid if the dose was administered before April 1, 2016, and was not 
noted as being administered as part of a mass vaccination campaign. OPV doses administered on or after April 1, 2016, 
should not be counted as a valid dose for the U.S. polio vaccination schedule. Reference: https://www.immunize.org/ask-
experts/topic/polio/ 

*Children enrolled in early childhood programs must be immunized with the polio vaccine according to their age. The number of 
required doses varies based on the child’s age and the time since their last vaccination.  

 

Polio 
Recommended Immunization Schedule 

IPV #1 

Birth 2 months   4 months 

 

       

6 months   12 months  15 months  18 months   19-23 
months   

4-6  years  11-12 years 

IPV #2 IPV #3 IPV #4 

 Shaded boxes indicate the vaccine can be given during shown age range. 
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today 
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months after Dose 3 and at 
4 through 6 years of age4 

  
It has not been 4 weeks since Dose 2  

  
 

1IPV products include IPOL, Pediarix, Pentacel, Vaxelis, Kinrix, and Quadracel. Use the correct product based on the approved age indications. 
 
2Series containing oral polio vaccine (OPV) administered before April 1, 2016, either mixed OPV-IPV or OPV only: Total number of doses needed to 
complete the series is the same as that recommended for the U.S. IPV schedule. http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/66/wr/mm6601a6.htm 
 
3Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated. 
4Vaxelis is not indicated for Dose 4.  

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger, United States, 2024/ 
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-age.html. 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Children 4 Months through 17 Years of Age 

Inactivated Polio Vaccine (IPV)
1 

 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-age.html. 



IF current 
age is 

 

  
AND 

  
 

  
Next dose due3

 

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  
4 through 

 

or 0   

  
 

  
  

 

  
 

today 

  
Give Dose 3  (Final  Dose) at least  6 

months after Dose 25 

 
It has not been at least 4 weeks since Dose 1 

   

  
 

  
  

 

  
 (Final Dose) 

today5 

  
 

  
It has not been 6 months since Dose 2  

  
Give Dose 3 (Final Dose) at least 6 

months after Dose 25 

  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  
 

  
  

4 
years of age 

at 
least 6 

Dose 3 
 

(Final dose) 
today4 

  
 

It has not 

6 months 
since Dose 3 

 

  

 

  
Give Dose 4 (Final Dose) at least 6 

months after Dose 34 

  
  
  

  
Dose 3 was 

given at 4 
or 

older 

Dose 3 was 
6 

months 
dose 

 

  

 

  

 

  
  

not given 
at least 6 

 

at 
least 6 

months 
 

(Final dose) 
today4 

  
 

It has not 
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1 IPV products include IPOL, Pediarix, Pentacel, Vaxelis, Kinrix, and Quadracel. Use the correct product based on the approved age indications.  

2 Series containing oral polio vaccine (OPV) administered before April 1, 2016, either mixed OPV-IPV or OPV only: Total number of doses needed 
to complete the series is the same as that recommended for the U.S. IPV schedule. www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/66/wr/mm6601a6.htm. 

3 Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated.  

4 Vaxelis is not indicated for Dose 4.  

5 Dose 4 is not necessary if the Dose 3 was given at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after the previous dose.  

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger, United States, 2024. 
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/imz-schedules/child-adolescent-age.html. 
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1 

Page 10 



.  

 
  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Varicella (Chickenpox) 
A student enrolling in a Utah early childhood program or in kindergarten through 12th grade must be 
immunized with the varicella (chickenpox) vaccine.* 

  
Kindergarten through twelfth: A student entering kindergarten through 12th grade must be immunized 
with two doses of the varicella (chickenpox) vaccine. The first dose must be administered on or after the 
student’s first birthday.  
Early childhood program entry:* A child 12 months of age or older attending an early childhood program 
must have received one dose of the varicella (chickenpox) vaccine prior to entry. It is recommended that 
children receive a second dose between 4 and 6 years of age. Children enrolled in early childhood 
programs must be immunized with the varicella vaccine according to their age. The number of the 
required doses varies based on the child’s age and how long ago they were vaccinated.  
 
NOTES: 

• For auditing purposes, the second dose can be accepted if administered earlier than 4-6 years of age, 
if at least three months have elapsed following the first dose. However, the second dose of varicella 
vaccine can be accepted if it was previously administered at least four weeks following the first dose.  

• Varicella vaccine doses administered to persons 13 years or older must be separated by four weeks.  
• For children aged 7-12 years, the recommended minimum interval between doses is three months. 
• For auditing purposes, if the second dose was previously administered at least four weeks after the 

first dose, it can be accepted as valid. 
• If a student has a history of Chickenpox disease, the student must submit documentation signed by a 

healthcare provider as proof of immunity.  
• If two live vaccines, such as MMR and chickenpox, are given less than four weeks apart, the second 

vaccine should be repeated. If varicella vaccine is not administered on the same day as MMR, 
a minimum of 28 days must separate the two vaccines. 

• If a child/student inadvertently received the zoster vaccine instead of the varicella vaccine, the zoster 
vaccine can be counted as one dose of varicella vaccine. 

• If the first dose was given before the student’s first birthday, it is not a valid dose and must be repeated. 
• The four-day “grace period” does not apply to the 28-day interval between two live vaccines not 

administered at the same day.   
• If MMRV was given instead of MMR, the minimum interval between doses is three months, but if the 

second dose of MMRV was given at least four weeks after the first dose, it can be accepted as valid. 
MMRV is approved for children 12 months through 12 years. 

• For dose 1 in children age 12–47 months, it is recommended to administer MMR and varicella vaccines 
separately. MMRV may be used if no preference is expressed.    
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

Varicella (Chickenpox) 

 Recommended Immunization Schedule 

Birth 2 months   4 months       6 months   12 months  15 months  18 months   19-23 
months   

4-6  years 

 

  

11-12 years 

VAR #1 VAR #2 

 Shaded boxes indicate the vaccine can be given during shown age range. 



Measles, mumps, and rubella (MMR) 
A student enrolling in a Utah kindergarten through twelfth grade or an early childhood program must be 
immunized with the Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR) vaccine.* 
 
School Entry: A student entering school (kindergarten through 12th grade) must be immunized with 
two doses of the measles, mumps, rubella (MMR) vaccine. The first dose must be administered on or 
after the student’s first birthday. The minimum interval between the first and second doses is four weeks.  
 
Early Childhood Program Entry:* A child one year of age or older attending an early childhood program 
must have received one dose of the MMR vaccine prior to entry.  
 
NOTES: 

• It is recommended that children receive the second dose of MMR at 4-6 years of age, however, the 
second dose of MMR can be accepted if it was administered four weeks (28 days) after the first dose. If 
MMR vaccine is NOT administered on the same day as Varicella, a minimum of 28 days must separate 
the two vaccines. If two live vaccines, such as MMR and Chickenpox, are given less than four weeks 
apart, the vaccine given second should be repeated.  

• If the first dose was given before the student’s first birthday, it is not a valid dose and must be repeated. 
• The four-day “grace period” does not apply to the 28-day interval between two live vaccines not 

administered at the same visit.   
• If MMRV was administered instead of MMR, minimum interval between doses is three months. If the 

second dose of MMRV was given at least four weeks after the first dose, it can be accepted as valid. 
MMRV is approved for children 12 months through 12 years. 

• For dose 1 in children age 12–47 months, it is recommended to administer MMR and varicella vaccines 
separately. MMRV may be used if parents or caregivers express no preference.    

  

*Children enrolled in early childhood programs must be immunized with the MMR vaccine according to their 
age. The number of  required doses varies based on the child’s age and how long ago they were vaccinated.   
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR) 

 Recommended Immunization Schedule 

Birth 2 months   4 months       6 months   12 months  15 months  18 months   19-23 
months   

4-6  years  11-12 years 

MMR #2 MMR #1 

 Shaded boxes indicate the vaccine can be given during shown age range. 



Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) 
A child under five years of age attending an early childhood program must be immunized with the 
Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) vaccine, as appropriate for their age.  

 
Hib is not recommended after a child’s 5th birthday and is therefore not a required for entry into  

              kindergarten. 
 
Recommended Schedule: The number of doses in the primary series depends on the type of vaccine used. Merck 
(PedvaxHIB) vaccines require a two-dose primary series (Table, Row 1), while other brands require a three-dose 
primary series (Table, Row 2). If more than one brand of vaccine is used for the primary series, a three-dose primary 
series is required. The minimum interval between Hib doses in the primary series is four weeks.  
 
Infants 2 through 6 months of age should receive a 3-dose series of ActHIB, Hiberix, Pentacel, or Vaxelis, or a 2-dose 
series of PedvaxHIB. The first dose can be administered as early as age 6 weeks. Hib-containing vaccine should not 
be given before 6 weeks of age. Doses given before 12 months of age should be separated by at least 4 weeks. A 
booster dose (which will be dose 3 or 4 depending on vaccine type used in primary series) of any Hib-containing 
vaccine is required at age 12 through 15 months and at least 8 weeks after the most recent Hib dose.  
 
Vaxelis is recommended only for the primary Hib series and is not recommended for use as a booster (4th) dose. A 
different Hib-containing vaccine licensed for a booster dose should be used. 
 
If a healthy child receives a dose of Hib vaccine at 15 months of age or older, he or she does not need any further 
doses regardless of the number of doses received before 15 months of age. Some high-risk children between the 
ages of 5 months and 59 months will be recommended for two doses of Hib vaccine based on previous history of 
incomplete vaccination.   
 
Routine vaccination 

•  ActHIB
®
, Hiberix

®
, Pentacel

®
, or Vaxelis

®
: 4-dose series (3-dose primary series at age 2, 4, and 6 months, 

followed by a booster dose* at age 12–15 months). *Vaxelis® is not recommended for use as a booster dose. A 
different Hib-containing vaccine should be used for the booster dose.  
•   PedvaxHIB

®
: 3-dose series (2-dose primary series at age 2 and 4 months, followed by a booster dose at age 

12–15 months) 
 
Three monovalent Hib vaccines are available in the United States: PedvaxHIB (PRP-OMP, Merck), ActHIB 

(PRP-T, Sanofi) and Hiberix (PRP-T, GSK).   
 
Reference: updated on February 14, 2023 (https://www.immunize.org/askexperts/experts_hib.asp) 
 
For catch-up guidance for healthy children 4 months through 4 years on Haemophilus influenza type b (Hib) 
vaccines-including ActHIB, Pentacel, Hiberix, unknown brand, Vaxelis, or PedvaxHIB-see the following pages. 
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

Merck 
Hib #1 

Merck 
Hib #2 

Other 
Hib #1 

Other 
Hib #2 

Other 
Hib #3 

Haemophilus influenzae type B (Hib) 

 Recommended Immunization Schedule 

Birth 2 months   4 months       6 months   12 months  15 months  18 months   19-23 
months   

4-6  years  11-12 years 

Merck 
Hib #3 Booster 

Other 
Hib #4 Booster 

 Shaded boxes indicate the vaccine can be given during shown age range. 
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No dose
today 

  

 

  
  
  
  
  
  

 

  

  

 
 

7 months of 
age 
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today 

  

 

 
or older 

  

 

  
No dose
today 

 

 

Catch-Up Guidance for Healthy
1
 Children 4 Months through 4 Years of Age 

haemophilus influenzae type b Vaccines: ActHIB, Pentacel, Hiberix, Vaxelis, or Unknown
2 

The table below provides guidance for children whose vaccinations have been delayed. Start with the child’s age and information on previous doses (previous 

doses must be documented and must meet minimum age requirements and minimum intervals between doses). Use this table in conjunction with table 2 of the Recommended 
Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger, found at www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/childadolescent.html.  
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Catch-Up Guidance for Healthy
1
 Children 4 Months through 4 Years of Age 

haemophilus influenzae type b Vaccines: ActHIB, Pentacel, Hiberix, or Unknown
2 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Healthy1 Children 4 Months through 4 Years of Age 

haemophilus influenzae type b Vaccines: ActHIB, Pentacel, Hiberix, Vaxelis, or Unknown2 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Healthy1 Children 4 Months through 4 Years of Age 

haemophilus influenzae type b Vaccines: ActHIB, Pentacel, Hiberix, Vaxelis, or Unknown2 
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No dose today 

  
  

 

1 1 Refer to notes of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger–

United States, 2024, for immunization guidance for children at increased risk for Haemophilus infuenzae type b disease.  

 

2 See separate job aid for HIB vaccination with PedvaxHIB.  

 

3 Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated.  

 

4 Vaxelis should not be used for Dose 4.  

 

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger–United States, 

2024. www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/ downloads/child/0-18yrs-child-combined-schedule.pdf  
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Catch-Up Guidance for Healthy1 Children 4 Months through 4 Years of Age 

Haemophilus influenzae type b Vaccines: PedvaxHIB vaccine only 

  

 

  

 

  
  

 

  
  

 

  
  

 

  
  

 

  
  
  

4 through 
6 months 

  
   

  
 

 
  
  

 
 

 

  
 

 

 
 

 

  
No dose today 

 
  
  

  
 
 

  
   

  
 

 
  
  
  

 

  

 

  

 

  
 

 

 
 

 

  
No dose today 

 
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

 
 

  
   

  
 

 
  
  
  
  
  

 

  

 
 

 

  
 

 

 

 

  
No dose today 

 

  

 
 

 

  
 

 
 

  
No dose today 

 
  
  
  
  

 

  

 
 

 
 

  
 

 
 

  
No dose today 

 

 

  

 

  
No dose today 

  
 

The table below provides guidance for children whose vaccinations have been delayed. Start with the child’s age and information on 

previous doses (previous doses must be documented and must meet minimum age requirements and minimum intervals between dos-
es). Use this table in conjunction with table 2 of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or 

Younger, found at www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/child-adolescent.html.  

 
1  Refer to notes of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger–United States, 2024, for immunization guid-
ance for children at increased risk for Haemophilus infuenzae type b disease.  
2 Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated.  
Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger–United States, 2024. www.cdc.gov/vaccines/

schedules/ downloads/child/0-18yrs-child-combined-schedule.pdf  
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Catch-Up Guidance for Healthy1 Children 4 Months through 4 Years of Age 

Haemophilus Influenzae type B Vaccines: PedvaxHIB vaccine only 
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1 Refer to notes of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger–United States, 2024, for immunization guid-

ance for children at increased risk for Haemophilus infuenzae type b disease.  
 

2 Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated.  

 
Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger–United States, 2024. www.cdc.gov/vaccines/
schedules/downloads/child/0-18yrs-child-combined-schedule.pdf  



Pneumococcal Conjugate (PCV) 
A child under five years of age attending an early childhood program must be immunized with the 
Pneumococcal vaccine, as appropriate for their age. 

 
The pneumococcal vaccine is not recommended after a child’s 5th birthday and is therefore not required 
for entry into kindergarten.  
 
Recommended Schedule: Pneumococcal vaccine is recommended for routine administration at ages 
two, four and six months of age with a booster dose at 12-15 months. Catch-up immunization is 
recommended for children who may have started late or fell behind schedule, using fewer doses 
depending on their age (see tables on page 8). The minimum interval between doses administered to 
children <12 months of age is four weeks. The minimum interval between doses administered at ≥12 
months of age is eight weeks. The booster dose of PCV vaccine, following the primary series, should be 
administered no earlier than 12 months of age and at least eight weeks after the previous dose. 
 
Children in my practice have started the pneumococcal vaccine series with PCV13. Now that PCV15 or 
PCV20 are recommended, do I need to restart the vaccination series or give additional vaccine doses to 
all of them? 
Do not restart the series or give additional doses. The previously administered doses of PCV13 are valid. 
Complete the pneumococcal conjugate vaccination series with either PCV15 or PCV20 in accordance with the 
routine schedule. 
Last reviewed: November 13, 2024 
Reference:  
https://www.immunize.org/ask-experts/which-pneumococcal-vaccines-are-licensed-for-use-in-the-united-states/ 
 

 A healthy 3-year-old child in my practice was fully vaccinated on-time with PCV13. Do they need a dose 
 of  PCV15 or PCV20? No. No additional doses of pneumococcal vaccine are recommended.  

 

For catch-up guidance on the pneumococcal  conjugate vaccine (PCV) for healthy children 4 months to 4 years, 
see the following pages. 
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

Pneumococcal Conjugate (PCV) 

 Recommended Immunization Schedule 

Birth 2 months   4 months       6 months   12 months  15 months  18 months   19-23 
months   

4-6  years  11-12 years 

PCV #1 PCV #2 PCV #3 PCV Booster 

 Shaded boxes indicate the vaccine can be given during age range shown. 
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The table below provides guidance for children whose vaccinations have been delayed. Start with the child’s age and information on previous doses 
(previous doses must be documented and must meet minimum age requirements and minimum intervals between doses). Use this table in conjunction 
with table 2 of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger, found at 
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/child-adolescent.html.  

INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated. 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Healthy1 Children 4 months through 4 Years of Age 

Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine: PCV 
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Catch-Up Guidance for Healthy1 Children 4 months through 4 Years of Age 

Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine: PCV 

INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

1Refer to the notes of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger–

United States, 2024, for immunization guidance for children at increased risk for pneumococcal disease.  

2Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated. 

3Separated by at least 8 weeks. 

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger–United States, 

2024. www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/ downloads/child/0-18yrs-child-combined-schedule.pdf.  
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Catch-Up Guidance for Healthy1 Children 4 months through 4 Years of Age 

Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine: PCV 

INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

1Refer to the notes of the Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or 

Younger–United States, 2024, for immunization guidance for children at increased risk for pneumococcal dis-

ease.  
2Next dose due is not the final dose in the series unless explicitly stated.  

Reference: Recommended Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedule for Ages 18 Years or Younger–

United States, 2024. www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/ downloads/child/0-18yrs-child-combined-
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Hepatitis A 
A student enrolling in a Utah early childhood program or in kindergarten through 12th grade must be 
immunized with the Hepatitis A vaccine.* 

 
 
School Entry: Two doses of the Hepatitis A vaccine are required for entry into kindergarten through 12th 
grade. The first dose must be administered on or after the student’s first birthday. The second dose must 
be given at least six months after the first dose. 
 
 
Early Childhood Program Entry:* A child 12 months of age or older attending an early childhood 
program must be immunized with the Hepatitis A vaccine. The first dose must be administered on or after 
a child’s first birthday. The second dose must be administered a minimum of six months after the first 
dose. 
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

Hepatitis A 

 Recommended Immunization Schedule 

Birth 2 months   4 months       6 months   12 months  15 months  18 months   19-23 
months   

4-6  years  11-12 years 

Hepatitis A #1 & 2 

 Shaded boxes indicate the vaccine can be given during shown age range. 



 

 

 
 

 

    

Hepatitis B 
A student enrolling in a Utah early childhood program* or in kindergarten through 12th grade must be 
immunized with the Hepatitis B vaccine. 

 

Three doses of the Hepatitis B vaccine are required for entry into kindergarten through twelfth grade. The 
first two doses must be administered a minimum of four weeks apart. The final (third or fourth) dose must 
be administered according to the following three conditions. All three conditions MUST be met. 

(a)  The student (child) is/was a minimum of 24 weeks of age; 

(b)  The minimum interval between dose two and three must be at least eight weeks; and 

(c)  The minimum interval between dose one and dose three (final dose) must be at least 16 weeks. 

 
Condition (a) must be met before (b) and (c). 

 

NOTES: 

 

• For students aged 11-15 years, two doses meet the requirement (separated by at least four months) if 
adult Hepatitis B vaccine Recombivax HB was used. 

• A total of four doses of Hepatitis B vaccine is acceptable when a combination vaccine 
containing Hepatitis B is administered after the birth dose. 

 

 
Early childhood program entry: Children enrolled in early childhood programs must be immunized with the 
Hepatitis B vaccine according to their appropriate age. The number of doses required varies by a child’s age 
and how long ago they were vaccinated.  
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INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

Hepatitis B 

 Recommended Immunization Schedule 

Birth 2 months   4 months       6 months   12 months  15 months  18 months   19-23 
months   

4-6  years  11-12 years 

Hepatitis B #3  

Hepatitis B #1 

Hepatitis B #2 

 Shaded boxes indicate the vaccine can be given during shown age range. 



Page 26 

INDIVIDUAL VACCINE REQUIREMENTS 

Meningococcal   
A student enrolling in grades 7 through 12 in Utah must receive a dose of the Meningococcal Conjugate 
vaccine. 

School entry: One dose of the Meningococcal Conjugate vaccine is required for students entering 
grades 7 through 12.  

 

NOTE: Only a Meningococcal Conjugate vaccine given on or after 10 years of age is acceptable for entry into 
grades 7 through 12. 

Tetanus-diphtheria-acellular pertussis (Tdap) 
A student enrolling in grades 7 through 12 in Utah must receive a dose of the Tdap vaccine. 

 

NOTE: Only a Tdap vaccine given on or after 10 years of age is acceptable for entry into grades 7 through 12. 

NOTE: A student must provide proof of previously receiving five doses of the DTaP vaccine or four doses if dose 4 was 
administered at age 4 years or older and at least six months after dose 3. A student who has never been vaccinated with the DTaP 
vaccine or who was not fully vaccinated with the DTaP vaccine as provided by Subsection R396-100-3(1)(f), must be immunized 
with the appropriate number of doses of Tetanus, Diphtheria (Td) or Tdap vaccine in accordance with the catch-up Immunization 
schedule for children and adolescents who start late or who are more than one month behind.  

 

 Shaded boxes indicate the vaccine can be given during shown age range. 

     

Birth 2 
months   

4 
months       

6 
months   

12 
months  

15 
months  

18 
months   

19-23 
months   

4-6  
years  

11-12 years 

Meningococcal  

Meningococcal Conjugate 

 Recommended Immunization Schedule 

     

Birth 2 
months   

4 
months       

6 
months   

12 
months  

15 
months  

18 
months   

19-23 
months   

4-6  
years  

11-12 years 

Tdap  

Tetanus-diphtheria-acellular pertussis (Tdap)  

 Recommended Immunization Schedule 



The following vaccines are required for students enrolling in kindergarten through sixth 
grade: 

5 doses of DTaP*  

4 doses of Polio** 

2 doses of Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR) 

3 doses of Hepatitis B 

2 doses of Hepatitis A 

2 doses of Varicella (Chickenpox)  

 

The following vaccines are required for students enrolling in seventh through twelfth 
grade: 

1 dose of Tdap - Only a Tdap vaccine given on or after 10 years of age is acceptable for entry into grades 7     
through 12. 

3 doses of Hepatitis B 

2 doses of Hepatitis A 

2 doses of MMR  

2 doses of Varicella (Chickenpox)  

1 dose of Meningococcal Conjugate- Only a Meningococcal Conjugate vaccine given on or after 10 years of 
age is acceptable for entry into grades 7 through 12. 

4 doses of Polio** 

5 doses of DTaP vaccine (or four doses if the fourth dose was given on or after the fourth birthday  and 
at least six months after the third dose), or the appropriate number of Tetanus, Diphtheria (Td) or 
Tdap doses if not fully vaccinated, in accordance with the catch-up Immunization schedule for chil-
dren and adolescents who start late or are more than one month behind.  

 

Note: Proof of immunity to disease can be accepted in place of vaccination only for measles, mumps, rubel-
la, varicella, or hepatitis A. If a student has immunity to a disease due to a previous infection, an immunity 
document from a healthcare provider must be provided to the school. This document must include positive 
serologic (titer) test results and a signed statement from a healthcare provider confirming that, based on 
positive laboratory test results, the student does not need  the MMR, varicella, or hepatitis A vaccines.  

 

 

*DTaP- Only four doses are required if fourth dose was administered on or after the fourth birthday. 

**Polio - Only three doses are required if third dose was administered on or after the fourth 
birthday. 

SECTION  2  SUMMARY OF REQUIREMENTS 

SCHOOL ENTRY REQUIREMENTS FOR GRADES K-12 
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SECTION  2  SUMMARY OF REQUIREMENTS 



 

Beginning with the 1999-2000 school year, Hepatitis B became a requirement for kindergarten entry. Beginning  
with the 2002-2003 school year, Hepatitis A and Varicella became requirements for kindergarten entry. Beginning  
with the 2006-2007 school year, Hepatitis B, Tetanus/Diphtheria booster (Td), and Varicella became requirements  
for seventh grade entry. Beginning with the 2007-2008 school year, Tetanus/Diphtheria/Pertussis (Tdap) became  
a requirement for the seventh grade booster dose. Beginning with the 2015-2016 school year one dose of Meningococcal  conjugate 
vaccine became a requirement for the seventh grade entry and two doses of Varicella vaccine became a requirement for seventh 
grade entry and kindergarten entry.  
 
Beginning with the 2025-2026 school year, the following vaccines will be required for students entering kindergarten 
through sixth-grade: 
5 doses of DTaP 
4 doses of Polio** 
2 doses of Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR) 
3 doses of Hepatitis B 
2 doses of Hepatitis A 
2 doses of Varicella (Chickenpox)  
 
Beginning with the 2025-2026 school year, the following vaccines will be required for students entering seventh through 
twelfth grade: 
1 dose of Tdap - Only a Tdap vaccine given on or after 10 years of age is acceptable for school entry 
3 doses of Hepatitis B 
2 doses of Hepatitis A 
2 doses of Varicella (Chickenpox)  
2 doses of MMR 
1 dose of Meningococcal Conjugate- Only a Meningococcal Conjugate vaccine given on or after 10 years of age is acceptable for 
school entry. 
4 doses of Polio 
Students must provide proof of previously receiving five doses of the DTaP vaccine or four doses if dose 4 was administered at age 4 
years or older and at least six months after dose 3. A student who has never been vaccinated with the DTaP vaccine or who was not 
fully vaccinated with the DTaP vaccine as provided by Subsection R396-100-3(1)(f), must be immunized with the appropriate number 
of doses of Tetanus, Diphtheria (Td) or Tdap vaccine in accordance with the catch-up Immunization schedule for children and 
adolescents who start late or who are more than one month behind.  
 
Proof of immunity to disease can be accepted in place of vaccination only for measles, mumps, rubella, varicella, or hepatitis A. If a 
student has immunity to a disease due to a previous infection, an immunity document from a healthcare provider must be provided to 
the school. This document must include positive serologic (titer) test results and a signed statement from a healthcare provider 
confirming that, based on positive laboratory test results, the student does not need  the MMR, varicella, or hepatitis A vaccines.  
 

 

 

Hepatitis A,  Hepatitis B, Varicella (Chickenpox), MMR, Polio, DTaP*/Td 

 

School Year  Grades Required 

      2025-2026  K-12th 

*Students 7 years or older who have not received any of the  components of DTaP vaccine, or whose vaccination histo-
ry is unknown, should receive 3 doses of Td or Tdap. Tdap for dose #1 followed by Td or Tdap for next 2 doses.   

  

Tdap 

 

School Year         Grades Required 

    2025-2026        7th-12th 
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IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOLS ONLY 

SUMMARY OF REQUIREMENTS 



 

 

Children enrolled in early childhood programs must be appropriately immunized for their age with the 
following vaccines: 

 

• Diphtheria, Tetanus, acellular Pertussis (DTaP) 

• Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR) 

• Polio     

• Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)  

• Hepatitis A  

• Hepatitis B    

• Varicella (Chickenpox) 

• Pneumococcal Conjugate (PCV) 

 

Note: Proof of immunity to disease can be accepted in place of vaccination only for measles, mumps, rubella, 
varicella, or hepatitis A. If a child has immunity to a disease due to a previous infection, an immunity 
document from a healthcare provider must be provided to the school. This document must include positive 
serologic (titer) test results and a signed statement from a healthcare provider confirming that, based on 
positive laboratory test results, the child does not need  the MMR, varicella, or hepatitis A vaccines.  

 
 

 

 

   
   

   

 

The timing and spacing of vaccine doses are two of the most important considerations in the appropriate use of 
vaccines. An accelerated vaccine schedule may be necessary for children who have fallen behind schedule and need to 
be brought up-to-date quickly. However, accelerated schedules should not be used routinely.  

A “minimum interval” refers to the shortest allowable time between doses of a vaccine series, during which an adequate 
immune response to the second dose can be expected.  

An accelerated immunization schedule is used when a person needs to be vaccinated more quickly than the 
recommended schedule allows. This can be necessary in specific circumstances, such as catching up when someone 
has fallen behind on their vaccinations and requires rapid protection. Accelerated schedules can be used as long as the 
minimum ages and intervals between doses are observed. Once the person is back on schedule, they should resume 
the recommended vaccination schedule.  

An extensive listing of recommended and minimum intervals and ages for vaccination can be found in the ACIP “General 
Best Practices Guidelines for Immunization”, available at www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/general-recs/timing.html#, 
(Table 3-2).  

Vaccine doses should not be administered at intervals shorter than the minimum interval or earlier than the minimum 
ages listed in the table on the following page. 
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EARLY CHILDHOOD PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 

MINIMUM AGE AND MINIMUM INTERVALS 

SUMMARY OF REQUIREMENTS 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/hcp/acip-recs/general-recs/timing.html


This table should be used to determine minimum intervals for “catching up” children who have fallen behind. Otherwise, 
the recommended schedule should be used. 
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VACCINE 

Minimum  
AGE  

Dose 1 

Minimum 
INTERVAL  
Dose 1 to 2 

Minimum 
 INTERVAL 
Dose 2 to 3 

Minimum 
INTERVAL 
Dose 3 to 4 

Minimum  
INTERVAL 
Dose 4 to 5 

DTaP/DTP/DT 6 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months 

NOTE: For auditing 
purposes only — dose 4 
need not be repeated if 
given at least 4 months 
after dose 3. 

6 months 

Polio 6 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months (final dose must be given on or after 
the fourth birthday AND 6 months from the 

previous dose) 

MMR 12 months 4 weeks If the first dose of MMR is given before the first birthday, 
it must  be repeated. 

Hepatitis B birth 4 weeks 8 weeks  

(child must be at least 
24 weeks of age) 

There must be 16 weeks between dose 1 and 3. 

Hib 6 weeks 4 weeks  

If first dose given  
at <12 months 

8 weeks  
(as final dose) 
If first dose given  
at 12-14 months 

No further doses 
needed If first dose 

given  
at  >15 months 

4 weeks 

If current age <12 
months 

8 weeks  
(as final dose)  

If current age >12 months  
and second dose given  

at <15 months 

No further doses 
needed  

If previous dose given at  
>15 months 

8 weeks 
(as final dose) 

This dose only necessary 
for children aged 12 

months - 5 years who 
received 3 doses before 

12 months. Last dose 
should not be given 

earlier than 12 months 
and a minimum of 8 
weeks after previous 

dose. 

NOTE: Schedule may vary 
according to child’s current 
age and previous number of 
doses received. 

Varicella (Chickenpox) 12 months 3 months (Children 
>13 years of age need 

2 doses, 4 weeks 
apart.) 

If the first dose of Varicella is given before the first birthday, 
it must be repeated. 

Hepatitis A 12 months 6 months  

Pneumococcal Conjugate 
(PCV) 

6 weeks 4 weeks  

If first dose given  
at <12 months 

8 weeks  
(as final dose) 

If first dose given at 
≥12 months or current 

age 24-59 months 

No further doses 
needed  

for healthy children 
if first dose given 

at >24 months 

4 weeks 

If current age <12 
months 

8 weeks 

(as final dose)  
If current age >12 

months 

No further doses 
needed for healthy 

children if previous dose 
given at >24 months 

8 weeks 

(as final dose) 
This dose necessary for 
children age 12 months - 
5 years who received 3 

doses before age 12 
months. 

NOTE:  One supplemental 
dose of Prevnar 13 vaccine 
is recommended for healthy 
children 14-59 months of 
age who have completed the 
4-dose series with Prevnar 7 
AND for children with 
underlying medical 
conditions through 71 
months of age.  

Schedule may vary 
according to child’s current 
age and  previous number of 
doses received. 

Tetanus/Diphtheria/ 
Pertussis (Tdap) 

A single dose of Tdap is recommended at 11-12 years of age, regardless of interval since the last 
tetanus/diphtheria-containing vaccine. Td or Tdap boosters should be administered every ten years thereafter.  

Meningococcal  Conjugate 11-12 years 8 weeks 

 

   

MINIMUM AGE AND MINIMUM INTERVALS 

SUMMARY OF REQUIREMENTS 



DUE DATES 

Each year, the Utah Department of Health and Human Services collaborates with the Utah State 
Board of Education (USBE) as required by Utah Statutory Code 53G-9-305(2)(b) to collect 
immunization data on currently enrolled students from all public, private, and parochial schools. 
Each school is required 
to submit data regarding the immunization status of all children currently enrolled. These reports 
reflect the current requirements in accordance with CDC guidelines. All reports must be 
completed online. The Utah Department of Health and Human Services will prescribe the 
information needed for each of the listed reports and instructions for completion.   

 

THE DUE DATES ARE AS FOLLOWS: 

 

JANUARY 30 OF EACH YEAR: 

(a)  KINDERGARTEN SUMMARY REPORT – statistical report of the immunization status of all  
 kindergarten students. 

 

(b)  TWO DOSE MMR REPORT – statistical report of the two-dose Measles, Mumps, and  
 Rubella immunization status of all students kindergarten through grade 12. 

 

(c) SEVENTH GRADE SUMMARY REPORT – statistical report of the Hepatitis B, Tdap, MMR, 
and Varicella status of all seventh grade students. 

 

(d)  EARLY CHILDHOOD PROGRAM REPORT – statistical report of the immunization status of 
all children enrolled in a licensed day care center and Head Start Program. 

 

OTHER REQUIREMENTS: 

(a) YEAR–END REPORTS – DUE JUNE 15th of each year – public and charter schools that 
report students as “conditional admission” or “out-of-compliance” on the November report 
will be required to submit a year-end report. This report will track those students to determine 
if they were immunized by the end of the school year. The Utah Immunization Program will 
collect the information and submit it to the Utah State Board of Education (USBE) to 
determine weighted pupil unit funds for each public school district in accordance with USBE 
policies and Utah Statutory Code (Section 53G-9-302).    

 

(b)  AUDITS – Periodic audits of schools and/or early childhood programs may be conducted by  
local or state health department representatives for record review to ensure children meet  
the immunization requirements. The goal of these audits is to assure adequate protection of 
Utah’s children while improving immunization procedures. A major emphasis of these visits 
is to provide assistance in solving any problems. 
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APPENDIX A - Page 35 
  Utah Statutory Code  – Title 53G – Chapter 9 – Part 3 Immunization Requirements   

  Utah Immunization Rule for Students (R396-100) 

 
APPENDIX B - Page 47 
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    Admission/Entry 

    Exemptions 

    Immunization Record Review 

    Compliance Issues 

    Resources 

 
APPENDIX C - Page 58 
 Communication with Parents 

   Early Childhood Program Immunization Requirements 

   English Exclusion Notice for Inadequate Immunizations 

   Spanish Exclusion Notice for Inadequate Immunizations 

   English “30-Day Conditional Enrollment Notice” 

   Spanish “30-Day Conditional Enrollment Notice” 

 

 
APPENDIX D - Page 65 
 Common Vaccine Names 

 
APPENDIX E - Page 66 

  Sample Utah Immunization Program Forms 

   Sample Exemption Form 

   Sample Utah School Immunization Record (USIR) card 

 
APPENDIX F - Page 70 
  Utah School and Child care Employee Immunization Recommendations 

 
APPENDIX G - Page 71 
  Tips for Talking to Parents About Vaccines 
   How Do I Fill Out The Utah School Immunization Record (USIR) 
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SECTION 4 APPENDICES 



UTAH STATUTORY CODE 

Utah Code – Statutes and Constitution 

Title 53 G – Public Education System – Local Administration  

Chapter 9 – Health and Welfare 

Part 3 -- Immunization Requirements 

Section 301 Definitions 

53G-9-301. Definitions.  

As used in this part:  

(1) "Department" means the Department of Health and Human Services created in Section 26B-1-201. 

(2) "Health official" means an individual designated by a local health department from within the local health 
department to consult and counsel parents and licensed health care providers, in accordance with 
Subsection 53G-9-304(2)(a).  

(3) "Health official designee" means a licensed health care provider designated by a local health department, 
in accordance with Subsection 53G-9-304(2)(b), to consult with parents, licensed health care 
professionals, and school officials.  

(4) "Immunization" or "immunize" means a process through which an individual develops an immunity to a 
disease, through vaccination or natural exposure to the disease.  

(5) "Immunization record" means a record relating to a student that includes: 

(a) information regarding each required vaccination that the student has received, including the date each 
vaccine was administered, verified by:  

(i) a licensed health care provider;  

(ii) an authorized representative of a local health department;  

(iii) an authorized representative of the department;  

(iv) a registered nurse; or  

(v) a pharmacist;  

(b) information regarding each disease against which the student has been immunized by previously      
 contracting the disease; and  

(c) an exemption form identifying each required vaccination from which the student is exempt, including all 
required supporting documentation described in Section 53G-9-303.  

(6) "Legally responsible individual" means:  

(a) a student's parent;  

(b)  the student's legal guardian;  

(c)  an adult brother or sister of a student who has no legal guardian; or  

(d)  the student, if the student:  

(i) is an adult; or  

(ii) is a minor who may consent to treatment under Section 26B-4-321. 

(7) "Licensed healthcare provider" means a healthcare provider who is licensed under Title 58, Occupations 
and Professions, as:  

(a) a medical doctor;  

(b)  an osteopathic doctor; 

(c)  a physician assistant; or  

(d)  an advanced practice registered nurse.  
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(8) “Local health department" means the same as that term is defined in Section 26A-1-102.  

(9) "Required vaccines" means vaccines required by department rule described in Section 53G-9-305.  

(10) (a) "School" means any public or private:  

 (i) elementary or secondary school through grade 12;  

 (ii)  preschool;  

 (iii)  child care program, as that term is defined in Section 26B-2-401;  

 (iv)  nursery school; or 

 (v)  kindergarten.  

 (b) “School” does not include a: 

  (i) home school; 

  (ii) home-based microschool; or 

  (iii) micro-education entity. 

(11) "Student" means an individual who attends a school.  

(12) “Vaccinating” or "vaccination" means the administration of a vaccine.  

(13)"Vaccination exemption form" means a form, described in Section 53G-9-304, that documents and  
 verifies that a student is exempt from the requirement to receive one or more required vaccines.  

(14)"Vaccine" means the substance licensed for use by the United States Food and Drug Administration that   
 is injected into or otherwise administered to an individual to immunize the individual against a  
 communicable disease.  

Amended by Chapter 464, 2024 General Session 

            Effective 5/1/2024 

53G-9-302. Immunization required-- Exception-- Weighted pupil unit funding. 

(1) A student may not attend a school unless:  

(a) the school receives an immunization record from the legally responsible individual of the student, the 
student's former school, or a statewide registry that shows:  

 (i) that the student has received each vaccination required by the department under Section 53G-9- 
    305; or  

 (ii) for any required vaccination that the student has not received, that the student:  

   (A) has immunity against the disease for which the vaccination is required, because the  
   student  
         previously contracted the disease as documented by a health care provider, as that 
   term is defined  
         in Section 78B-3-103; or  

  (B) is exempt from receiving the vaccination under Section 53G-9-303;  

 (b) the student qualifies for conditional enrollment under Section 53G-9-308; or  

(c) the student:  

 (i) is a student, as defined in Section 53E-3-903; and  

(ii) complies with the immunization requirements for military children under Section 53E-3-905.  

(2)  An LEA may not receive weighted pupil unit money for a student who is not permitted to attend school     
      under Subsection (1).  

            Effective 7/1/2018 
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53G-9-303. Grounds for exemption from required vaccines -- Renewal.  (Effective 5/7/2025) 

(1) A student is exempt from the requirement to receive a vaccine required under Section 53G-9-305 if the 
student qualifies for a medical or personal exemption from the vaccination under Subsection (2) or (3). 

 

(2) A student qualifies for a medical exemption from a vaccination required under Section 53G-9-305 if the 
student's legally responsible individual provides to the student's school: 

    (a)  a completed vaccination exemption form; and 

(b)  a written notice signed by a licensed health care provider stating that, due to the physical condition of 
the student, administration of the vaccine would endanger the student's life or health. 

(3) A student qualifies for a personal exemption from a vaccination required under Section 53G-9-305 if the 
student's legally responsible individual provides to the student's school a completed vaccination 
exemption form, stating that the student is exempt from the vaccination because of a personal or religious 
belief. 

(4) A vaccination exemption form that an individual submits under this section remains:  

     (a) valid for as long as the student remains enrolled in the public education system; and 

     (b) part of the student's permanent school record, including if the student transfers schools, in     
accordance with Section 53G-9-306. 

(5) An LEA that offers both remote and in-person learning options may not deny a student who is  exempt 
from a requirement to receive a vaccine under Subsection (1) to participate in an in-person learning option 
based upon the student's vaccination status.  

(6) Nothing in this section restricts a state or local health department from acting under applicable law to 
contain the spread of an infectious disease. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

             

                                                                                                                                Effective  5/7/2025 
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53G-9-304. Vaccination exemption form.  

(1) The department shall:  

 (a) develop a vaccination exemption form that includes only the following information:  

 (i) identifying information regarding:  

 (A) the student to whom an exemption applies; and  

 (B) the legally responsible individual who claims the exemption for the student and signs the vaccination 
exemption form;  

 (ii) an indication regarding the vaccines to which the exemption relates;  

 (iii) a statement that the claimed exemption is for:  

 (A) a medical reason; or 

 (B) a personal or religious belief; and  

(iv) an explanation of the requirements, in the event of an outbreak of a disease for which a required 
vaccine exists, for a student who:  

 (A) has not received the required vaccine; and  

 (B) is not otherwise immune from the disease; and  

 (b) provide the vaccination exemption form created in this Subsection (1) to local health departments.  

(2) (a) Each local health department shall designate one or more individuals from within the local health   
     department as a health official to consult, regarding the requirements of this part, with:  

 (i) parents, upon the request of parents; 

 (ii) school principals and administrators; and  

 (iii) licensed health care providers.  

 (b) A local health department may designate a licensed health care provider as a health official designee  
     to provide the services described in Subsection (2)(a).  

(3) (a) To receive a vaccination exemption form described in Subsection (1), a legally responsible individual  
     shall complete the online education module described in Section 26B-7-118, permitting an individual to: 

 (i) complete any requirements online; and  

 (ii) download and print the vaccine exemption form immediately upon completion of the requirements.  

 (b) A legally responsible individual may decline to take the online education module and obtain a  
     vaccination exemption form from a local health department if the individual:  

(i) requests and receives an in-person consultation at a local health department from a health official 
or a health official designee regarding the requirements of this part; and  

 (ii) pays any fees established under Subsection (4)(b).  

(4) (a) Neither the department nor any other person may charge a fee for the exemption form offered through  
     the online education module in Subsection (3)(a).  

 (b) A local health department may establish a fee of up to $25 to cover the costs of providing an in-person  
     consultation. 

                

             Effective 5/3/2023 
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53G-9-305. Regulations of department.  

(1) In accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, the department shall make 
rules regarding:  

 (a) which vaccines are required as a condition of attending school;  

 (b) the manner and frequency of the vaccinations; and  

 (c) the vaccination exemption form described in Section 53G-9-304.  

(2) The department shall ensure that the rules described in Subsection (1):  

 (a) conform to recognized standard medical practices; and  

 (b) require schools to report to the department statistical information and names of students who are not in 
compliance with Section 53G-9-302.  

  

               2018 

53G-9-306. Immunization record part of student's record -- School review process at enrollment -- 
Transfer. (Effective 5/7/2025) 

(1) Each school:  

(a)  shall request an immunization record for each student at the time the student enrolls in the school;  

(b) may not charge a fee related to receiving or reviewing an immunization record or a vaccination   
 exemption form; and  

(c) shall retain an immunization record for each enrolled student as part of the student's permanent  
 school record.  

(2) (a) Within five business days after the day on which a student enrolls in a school, an individual designated  
            by the school principal or administrator shall:  

(i) determine whether the school has received an immunization record for the student;  

(ii) review the student's immunization record to determine whether the record complies with Subsection  

53G-9-302 (1); and  

(iii) identify any deficiencies in the student's immunization record.  

(b) If the school has not received a student's immunization record or there are deficiencies in the  
immunization record, the school shall:  

(i) place the student on conditional enrollment, in accordance with Section 53G-9-308; and  

(ii) within five days after the day on which the school places the student on conditional enrollment,   
     provide the notice described in Subsection 53G-9-308(3).  

(3) A school from which a student transfers shall provide the student's immunization record to the student's  
     new school  

 (a) upon request of the student's legally responsible individual; or 

 (b) if the school has not transferred the record upon a request under Subsection (3)(a), when the school 
    transfers any of the student’s records to the new school.  

                
             

             Effective 5/7/2025 
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53G-9-308. Conditional enrollment -- Suspension for noncompliance -- Procedure.  

(1) As used in this section:  
   (a) "Enroller" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53G-6-603  
   (b) "Newcomer student" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53E-3-524.  
   (c) "Social service provider" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53E-3-524.  
(2) A student for whom a school has not received a complete immunization record may attend the school on a 
conditional enrollment:  

(a) during the period in which the student's immunization record is under review by the school; or  
(b) for 30 calendar days after the day on which the school provides the notice described in Subsection (3).  

(3) (a) Within five days after the day on which a school places a student on conditional enrollment, the school  
          shall provide notice to the enroller that:  

(i) the school has placed the student on conditional enrollment for failure to comply with the 
requirements of Subsection 53G-9-302(1);  

(ii) describes the identified deficiencies in the student's immunization record or states that the school 
has not received an immunization record for the student;  

(iii) gives notice that the student will not be allowed to attend school unless the legally responsible  
  individual cures the deficiencies, or provides an immunization record that complies with Subsection  
  53G-9-302(1), within the conditional enrollment period described in Subsection (2)(b); and  

(iv) describes the process for obtaining a required vaccination.  

(b) The school shall deliver the notice described in Subsection (3)(a):  
  (i) when possible, in the enroller's preferred language; and  
  (ii) using one of the following methods of delivery, as determined by mutual agreement between the 

school and the enroller:  
 (A) written notice delivered in person;  
 (B) written notice by mail;  
 (C) written notice by email or other electronic means; or 
  (D) by telephone, including voicemail.  

(4) A school shall remove the conditional enrollment status from a student after the school receives an  
     immunization record for the student that complies with Subsection 53G-9-302(1).  

(5) Except as provided in Subsection (6), at the end of the conditional enrollment period, a school shall  
     prohibit a student who does not comply with Subsection 53G-9-302(1) from attending the school until the  
     student complies with Subsection 53G-9-302(1).  

(6) A school principal or administrator:  

(a) shall grant an additional extension of the conditional enrollment period, if the extension is necessary  
     to complete all required vaccination dosages, for a time period medically recommended to complete  
     all required vaccination dosages; and  

(b) may grant an additional extension of the conditional enrollment period in cases of extenuating  
     circumstances, if the school principal or administrator and one of the following agree that an 
additional extension will likely lead to compliance with Subsection 53G-9-302(1):  
(i) a school nurse;  
(ii) a health official; or  
(iii) a health official designee, including: 
 (A) a social service provider; or  
 (B) a culturally competent and trauma-informed community representative.    

(7) For purposes of Subsection (6), a newcomer student enrolling in a school for the first time is an 
extenuating circumstance.  

                   
           Effective 5/4/2022  
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53G-9-309. School record of students' immunization status -- Confidentiality.  

(1) Each school shall maintain a current list of all enrolled students, noting each student:  

(a)  for whom the school has received a valid and complete immunization record;  

(b) who is exempt from receiving a required vaccine; and  

(c) who is allowed to attend school under Section 53G-9-308.  

(2) Each school shall ensure that the list described in Subsection (1) specifically identifies each disease  
against which a student is not immunized.  

(3) Upon the request of an official from a local health department in the case of a disease outbreak, a school  
     principal or administrator shall:  

(a) notify the legally responsible individual of any student who is not immune to the outbreak disease,  
     providing information regarding steps the legally responsible individual may take to protect students; 

(b) identify each student who is not immune to the outbreak disease; and  

(c) for a period determined by the local health department not to exceed the duration of the disease  
     outbreak, do one of the following at the discretion of the school principal or administrator after  
     obtaining approval from the local health department:  

(i)  provide a separate educational environment for the students described in Subsection (3)(b) that  
     ensures the protection of the students described in Subsection (3)(b) as well as the protection of 
     the remainder of the student body; or  

(ii) prevent each student described in Subsection (3)(b) from attending school.  

(4) A name appearing on the list described in Subsection (1) is subject to confidentiality requirements 
described in Section 26B-1-212 and Section 53E-9-202.  

         

              
            Effective 7/1/2022  
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 53E-3-524.  Newcomer student and foreign exchange student transcript repository.   
      

(1) As used in this section: 

(a) "Newcomer student" means a student who: 

(i) is three through 21 years old; 

(ii) was not born in any state; and 

(iii) has not attended one or more schools in one or more states for more than three full academic years. 

(b) "Qualified social service provider" means a social service provider that works directly with a student's 
family. 

(c) "Repository" means the online transcript repository described in Subsection (2). 

(d) "Social service provider" means: 

(i) one of the following professionals, licensed to practice under Section 58-60-205: 

(A) a clinical social worker; 

(B) a certified social worker; or 

(C) a social service worker; or 

(ii) staff employed to provide direct support to a professional described in Subsection (1)(d)(i). 

(e) "State" means: 

(i) a state of the United States; 

(ii) the District of Columbia; or 

(iii) the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. 

(f) "Student" means an individual who is enrolled in: 

(i) a public school within the state of Utah; and 

(ii) any grade from kindergarten through grade 12. 

(g)(i)"Transcript" means documentation of a newcomer student's or foreign exchange student's prior 
educational experience. 

(ii) "Transcript" includes oral representations about prior educational experience that a school or an LEA 
documents. 

(2) On or before July 1, 2024, the state board shall establish and maintain, as part of the Utah school 
information management system described in Section 53E-3-518, an online repository for transcripts. 

: 
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(3)The state board shall: 

(a) ensure that the repository provides a central location for: 

(i) an LEA to upload transcripts; and 

(ii) LEAs and qualified service providers to share information regarding transcripts, including: 

(A) best practices for linguistic interpretation; 

(B) interpretation of educational experiences; and 

(C) placement of newcomer students; 

(b) ensure that use of the repository: 

(i) is voluntary; and 

(ii) complies with all state and federal student privacy requirements, including: 

(A) Title 53E, Chapter 9, Student Privacy and Data Protection; and 

(B) the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, 20 U.S.C. Sec. 1232g; 

(c) provide the repository at no cost to LEAs; 

(d) provide access to the repository to qualified social service providers; 

(e) establish appropriate access protocols in coordination with LEAs and qualified social service providers; 
and 

(f) annually, before the school enrollment period begins, provide notice of the repository to interested parties 
that the state board designates in state board rule. 

(4) The state board shall make rules in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative 
Rulemaking Act, to implement this section, including rules:  

(a) establishing procedures:  

(i) to protect student data related to the repository in compliance with Title 53E, Chapter 9, Student Privacy 
and Data Protection; and 

(ii) for the use of the repository by the state board, LEAs, and qualified social service providers;  

(b) requiring repository users to enter into a data sharing agreement; and  

(c) designating the interested parties described in Subsection (3)(f).  

 

           Effective 5/3/2023  
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Title 53E - Public Education System -- State Administration 
Chapter 3 - State Board of Education Organization, Powers, and Duties 
Part 9 - Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children 
Section 905  Article IV -- Educational records and enrollment -- Immunizations -- Grade level entrance. 

 

53E-3-905. Article IV — Educational records and enrollment — Immunizations — Grade level entrance. 

   

(1) Unofficial or "hand-carried" education records. In the event that official education records cannot be 
released to the parents for the purpose of transfer, the custodian of the records in the sending state shall 
prepare and furnish to the parent a complete set of unofficial educational records containing uniform 
information as determined by the Interstate Commission. Upon receipt of the unofficial education records 
by a school in the receiving state, the school shall enroll and appropriately place the student based on the 
information provided in the unofficial records pending validation by the official records, as quickly as 
possible.  

(2) Official education records or transcripts. Simultaneous with the enrollment and conditional placement of 
the student, the school in the receiving state shall request the student's official education record from the 
school in the sending state. Upon receipt of this request, the school in the sending state will process and 
furnish the official education records to the school in the receiving state within 10 days or within such time 
as is reasonably determined under the rules promulgated by the Interstate Commission.  

(3)  Immunizations. Compacting states shall give 30 days from the date of enrollment or within such time as is 
reasonably determined under the rules promulgated by the Interstate Commission, for students to obtain 
any immunization required by the receiving state. For a series of immunizations, initial vaccinations must 
be obtained within 30 days or within such time as is reasonably determined under the rules promulgated 
by the Interstate Commission.  

(4) Kindergarten and First grade entrance age. Students shall be allowed to continue their enrollment at 
grade level in the receiving state commensurate with their grade level, including Kindergarten, from a local 
education agency in the sending state at the time of transition, regardless of age. A student that has 
satisfactorily completed the prerequisite grade level in the local education agency in the sending state 
shall be eligible for enrollment in the next highest grade level in the receiving state, regardless of age. 
Students transferring after the start of the school year in the receiving state shall enter the school in the 
receiving state on their validated level from an accredited school in the sending state.  

         

      Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 1, 2018 General Session  

 

 

 

          Effective 1/24/2018 
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R396. Health and Human Services, Disease Control and Prevention, Immunization. 

R396-100. Immunization Rule for Students. 

R396-100-1. Purpose and Authority. 

 (1) This rule implements the immunization requirements of Title 53G, Chapter 9, Part 3 Immunization 
Requirements.  It establishes minimum immunization requirements for attendance at a public, private, 
elementary, or secondary school through grade 12, nursery school or Kindergarten, licensed day care 
center, child care facility, family home care, or Head Start program in this state. It establishes: 

 (a) required doses and frequency of vaccine administration;  

 (b) reporting of statistical data; and  

 (c) time periods for conditional enrollment. 

(2) Section 53G-9-305 authorizes this rule.  

 

R396-100-2. Definitions.  

 The definitions in Section 53G-9-301 apply to this rule. In addition, as used in this rule: 

 (1) "Department" means the Utah Department of Health and Human Services created in Section 26B-
1-201. 

 (2)"Early Childhood Program" means a nursery or preschool, licensed day care center, child care 
facility, family care home, or Head Start program.  

 (3) "Exemption" means a relief from the statutory immunization requirements by qualifying under 
Section 53G-9-303.  

 

R396-100-3. Required Immunizations. 

(1) A student enrolling in kindergarten through sixth grade shall be immunized in accordance with the 
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Recommendations, as listed in Subsection R396-
100-3(4), before school entry for the following vaccines and doses: 

 (a) Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR)-2 doses; 

 (b) Varicella-2 doses; 

 (c) Hepatitis B-3 doses; 

 (d) Polio-4 doses, dose number 4 is not necessary if dose 3 was administered at age 4 years or older 
and at least 6 months after the previous dose; 

 (e) Hepatitis A-2 doses; and 

 (f) Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis (DTaP)- 5 doses, dose 5 is not necessary if dose 4 was 
administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after dose 3. 
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(2)(a) A student enrolling in seventh through twelfth grade: 

(b) Must be immunized in accordance with the ACIP Recommendations, as listed in Subsection R396-100-
3(4), before school entry for the following vaccines and doses: 

(i) Tetanus, Diphtheria, and acellular Pertussis (Tdap)- One dose; 

(ii) Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR)- 2 doses; 

(iii) Varicella– 2doses; 

(iv) Hepatitis B-3 doses; 

(v) Polio– 4 doses, dose 4 is not necessary if dose 3 was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 
months after the previous dose; 

(vi) Hepatitis A-2 doses; and 

(vii) Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine– One dose. 

(c) Must provide proof of previously receiving five doses of DTaP vaccine or 4 doses if dose 4 was 
administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after dose 3. A student who has never been 
vaccinated with DTaP vaccine or who was not fully vaccinated with DTaP vaccine as provided by Subsection 
R396-100-3(1)(f), must be immunized with the appropriate number of doses of Tetanus, Diphtheria (Td) or 
Tdap vaccine in accordance with the catch-up Immunization schedule for children and adolescents who start 
late or who are more than one month behind.  
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(3) To attend a Utah early childhood program, a student must meet the minimum immunization requirements of 
the ACIP listed in Subsection R396-100-3(4) for the following antigens:  

(a) Diphtheria;  

(b) Tetanus; 

(c) Pertussis; 

(d) Polio; 

(e) Measles; 

(f) Mumps; 

(g) Rubella; 

(h) Haemophilus Influenza Type b; 

(i) Hepatitis A; 

(j) Hepatitis B; 

(k) Pneumococcal; and 

(l) Varicella vaccines before school entry. 

 

(4) The vaccinations must be administered according to the recommendations of the United States Public 
Health Service's Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) which are incorporated by 
reference into this rule:  

(a) General Recommendations on Immunization: MMWR, December 1, 2006/Vol. 55/No. RR-15;  

(b) General Recommendations on Immunization: MMWR, January 28, 2011; 60(RR02):1-60; 

(c) Immunization of Adolescents: MMWR, November 22, 1996/Vol. 45/No. RR-13; 

(d) Combination Vaccines for Childhood Immunization: MMWR, May 14, 1999/Vol. 48/No. RR-5; 

(e) Use of Diphtheria Toxoid-Tetanus Toxoid-Acellular Pertussis Vaccine as a Five-Dose Series: Supplemental 
Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices: MMWR November 17, 2000/Vol. 
49/No. RR-13; 

(f) Licensure of a Diphtheria and Tetanus Toxoids and Acellular Pertussis, Inactivated Poliovirus, Haemophilus 
influenzae Type b Conjugate, and Hepatitis B Vaccine, and Guidance for Use in Infants: MMWR, February 7, 
2020, 69 (5);136-139; 

(g) Prevention of Pertussis, Tetanus, and Diphtheria with Vaccines in the United States: Recommendations of 
the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP): MMWR, April 27, 2018; 67 (2):1-44; 

(h) Updated Recommendations for Use of Tetanus Toxoid, Reduced Diphtheria Toxoid and Acellular Pertussis 
(Tdap) Vaccine from the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, 2010: MMWR, January 14, 2011; 
60(01):13-15; 

(i) Use of Tetanus Toxoid, Reduced Diphtheria Toxoid and Acellular Pertussis Vaccines Among Adolescents: 
MMWR, March 24, 2006, Vol. 55(RR03):1-49; 

(j) Use of Tetanus Toxoid, Reduced Diphtheria Toxoid, and Acellular Pertussis Vaccines: Updated 
Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices: MMWR, January 24, 2020, Vol. 69 
(3);77-83; 

(k) A Comprehensive Immunization Strategy to Eliminate Transmission of Hepatitis B Virus Infection in the 
United States. Part 1: Immunization of Infants, Children and Adolescents: MMWR, December 23, 2005, Vol. 
54(RR-16):1-39; 
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(l) Prevention of Hepatitis B Virus Infection in the United States: Recommendations of the Advisory 
Committee on Immunization Practices: MMWR, January 12, 2018; 67 (1); 1--31; 

(m) Haemophilus b Conjugate Vaccines for Prevention of Haemophilus influenza Type b Disease Among 
Infants and Children Two Months of Age and Older: MMWR, January 11, 1991/Vol. 40/No. RR-1; 

(n) Recommendations for Use of Haemophilus b Conjugate Vaccines and a Combined Diphtheria, Tetanus, 
and Pertussis, and Haemophilus b Vaccine: MMWR, September 17, 1993/Vol. 42/No. RR-13; 

(o) Prevention and Control of Haemophilus influenzae Type b Disease: Recommendations of the Advisory 
Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Recommendations and Reports: MMWR, February 28, 2014; 
63(RR01):1-14; 

(p) Updated Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) for the Control 
and Elimination of Mumps: MMWR, June 9, 2006/Vol. 55/No. RR-22; 

(q) Measles, Mumps, Rubella Vaccine (PRIORIX): Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices --- United States, 2022: MMWR, November 18, 2022, 71 (46); 1465-1470; 

(r) Prevention of Measles, Rubella, Congenital Rubella Syndrome, and Mumps, 2013 -- Summary 
Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP): MMWR, June 14, 2013; 
62(RR04):1-34; 

(s) Use of Combination Measles, Mumps, Rubella, and Varicella Vaccine--Recommendations of the Advisory 
Committee on Immunization Practices: MMWR, May 7, 2010; 59(RR--3):1 -- 16; 

(t) Updated Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Regarding 
Routine Poliovirus Vaccination: MMWR, August 7, 2009/Vol. 58/No. 30; 

(u) Poliomyelitis Prevention in the United States: MMWR May 19, 2000 / Vol. 49 / No. RR-05; 

(v) Prevention of Varicella: MMWR, June 22, 2007/Vol. 56/No. RR-4; 

(w) Prevention of Hepatitis A Through Active or Passive Immunization: MMWR, May 29, 2006/Vol. 55/No. 
RR-7; 

(x) Prevention of Hepatitis A Virus Infection in the United States: Recommendations of the Advisory 
Committee on Immunization Practices: MMWR, July 3, 2020, Vol. 69 (5);1-38; 

(y) Licensure of a 13-Valent Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV13) and Recommendations for Use 
Among Children-Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, (ACIP), 2010: MMWR March 12, 2010/Vol. 
59/No. 09; 

(z) Use of 15-Valent Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine Among U.S. Children: Updated Recommendations of 
the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices-US, 2022: MMWR, September 16, 2022, 71(37);1174--
1181; 

(aa) Preventing Pneumococcal Disease Among Infants and Young Children: MMWR October 6, 2000 /Vol. 49 
/ No. RR-09; 

(bb) Prevention and Control of Meningococcal Disease: Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices (ACIP): March 22, 2013/62(RR02);1-22; 

(cc) Meningococcal Vaccination: Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices: 
MMWR, September 25, 2020, Volume 69(9); 1--41; 

(dd) Licensure of a Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine (Menveo) and Guidance for Use--Advisory Committee 
on Immunization Practices (ACIP), 2010: MMWR, March 12, 2010; 59(09):273; and 

(ee) Updated Recommendations for Use of Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccines--Advisory Committee on 
Immunization Practices (ACIP), 2010: MMWR, January 28, 2011; 60(03):72-76. 
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R396-100-4. Official Utah School Immunization Record (USIR). 

(1)  Schools and early childhood programs shall use the official Utah School Immunization Record (USIR) 
form as the record of each student's immunizations.  The department shall provide copies or electronic copies 
of the USIR to schools, early childhood programs, physicians, and local health departments upon each of 
their requests. 

(2) Each school or early childhood program shall accept an immunization record as a certificate of 
immunization if: 

(a) it is received from a statewide registry, the student's former school, or the student's legally responsible 
individual; 

(b) it relates to a student regarding required vaccinations that the student has received; and 

(c) it includes the date each vaccine was administered, as verified by a licensed health care provider, an 
authorized representative of a local health department, an authorized representative of the department, a 
registered nurse, or a pharmacist. 

(3) The school or early childhood program shall transfer the following information from each certificate of 
immunization to the USIR: 

(a) name of the student; 

(b) student's date of birth; 

(c) vaccine administered; and 

(d) the month, day, and year each dose of vaccine was administered. 

(3)(a) Each school and early childhood program must maintain the following information in the file of each 
enrolled student: 

(i) the completed USIR for each student; 

(ii) an exemption form for each student claiming an exemption; and 

(iii) immunity documents for each student claiming previously infection with measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), 
varicella, or hepatitis A disease. The immunity documents must include the results of serologic testing for 
immunity, titer testing, and a written statement signed by a healthcare provider confirming that, based on 
positive laboratory test results, the student does not need to receive the MMR, varicella, or hepatitis A 
vaccines. Immunity through serologic testing is only acceptable and allowed for those students who were 
previously infected with measles, mumps, rubella, varicella, or hepatitis A. 

(b) The school and early childhood programs shall maintain up-to-date records of the immunization status for 
all students in all grades such that it can quickly exclude all non-immunized students if an outbreak occurs. 

(c) If a student withdraws, transfers, is promoted, or otherwise leaves school, the school or early childhood 
program shall either: 

(i) return the USIR, any immunity documents, and any exemption form to the legally responsible individual of 
a student; or 

(ii) transfer the USIR, any immunity documents, and any exemption form with the student's official school 
record to the new school or early childhood program upon the request of the student's legally responsible 
individual. 

(4) A representative of the department or the local health department may examine, audit, and verify 
immunization records maintained by any school or early childhood program. 

(5) Schools and early childhood programs may meet the record keeping requirements of this section by 
keeping its official school immunization records in the Utah Statewide Immunization Information System 
(USIIS). 

APPENDIX A – UTAH IMMUNIZATION STATUTES AND RULES 



R396-100-5. Exemptions. 

(1) A legally responsible individual of a student claiming an exemption to immunization for medical, religious, 
or personal reasons, as allowed by Section 53G-9-303, shall provide to the student's school or early child-
hood program the exemption form as set forth and required in Section 53G-9-304. 

(2) Also, to qualify for the exemption, the school or early childhood program shall attach the Section 26B-7-
118 Health Education form to the student's USIR indicating the parent received the required health education 
by online module or from an authorized local health authority. 

 

R396-100-6. Reporting Requirements. 

(1) Each school and early childhood program shall report the following to the department in the form or format 
prescribed by the department: 

(a) by January 30 of each year, a statistical report of the immunization status of students enrolled in a li-
censed day care center, Head Start program, and kindergartens; 

(b) by January 30 of each year, a statistical report of the two-dose measles, mumps, and rubella immuniza-
tion status of all kindergarten through twelfth grade students; 

(c) by January 30 of each year, a statistical report of tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis, hepatitis B, varicella, and 
the two-dose measles, mumps, and rubella immunization status of all seventh grade students; and 

(d) by June 15 of each year, a statistical follow-up report of those students not appropriately immunized from 
the January 30 report in all public schools, kindergarten through twelfth grade. 

(2) The information that the department requires in the reports shall be in accordance with the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention guidelines. 

 

R396-100-7. Conditional Enrollment, Extended Conditional Enrollment, and Exclusion. 

(1) A student that at the time of enrollment has not provided a school or early childhood program with a com-
plete immunization record, as required in this rule, may attend the school or early childhood program on a 
conditional enrollment for: 

(a) the period in which the student's immunization record is under review by the school or early childhood pro-
gram; or 

(b) 30 calendar days after the day the school or early childhood program provides a notice as described in 
Subsection 53G-9-308(3) to the enroller. 

(2) A school or early childhood program with conditionally and extended conditionally enrolled students shall 
routinely review every 30 days the immunization status of all conditionally enrolled students until each student 
has completed the subsequent doses and provided written documentation to the school or early childhood 
program. 

(3) Once the student has met the requirements of this rule, the school or early childhood program shall take 
the student off conditional status. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page 48 

APPENDIX A – UTAH IMMUNIZATION STATUTES AND RULES 



R396-100-8. Exclusions of Students Who Are Under Exemption, Conditionally, or Extended Condition-
ally Enrolled Status. 

(1) A local or state health department representative may exclude a student, as authorized by Section 53G-9-
302, who has claimed an exemption to all vaccines or to one vaccine, who is not immune to the outbreak dis-
ease, or who is conditionally or extended conditionally enrolled from school attendance if there is good cause 
to believe that the student has a vaccine-preventable disease, or: 

(a) has been exposed to a vaccine-preventable disease; or 

(b) will be exposed to a vaccine-preventable disease as a result of school attendance. 

(2) An excluded student may not attend school until the local health officer is satisfied that a student is no 
longer at risk of contracting or transmitting a vaccine-preventable disease. 

(3) Schools and early childhood programs shall comply with disease outbreak management options as de-
scribed in Subsection 53G-9-309(3)(c). 

 

R396-100-9. Penalties. 

Enforcement provisions and penalties for the violation or for the enforcement of public health rules, including 
this Immunization Rule for Students, are prescribed under Section 26B-1-224. 

 

KEY:  Immunization, rules and procedures 

Date of Last Change: February– 25, 2024 

Notice of Continuation: May 22, 2023 

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  Title 53G Chapter 9 Part 3; 26B-7-118 
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     ADMISSION/ENTRY  
 

 

1.  What records are required for school or early childhood program entry?  

All children enrolled in a school or early childhood program, nursery school, or preschool must have written 
proof  to verify the student’s immunizations, exemption, or proof of immunity (history of disease). 
Immunization records of students must show:  

(1) information regarding each required vaccination that the student has received, including the date each 
vaccine was administered. This must be verified by a licensed healthcare provider, registered nurse, an 
authorized representative of a local health department, an authorized representative of the department, or 
a pharmacist;  

(2) immunity documents for each student claiming previous infection with measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), 
varicella, or hepatitis A disease. The immunity documents must include the results of serologic testing for 
immunity, titer testing, and a written statement signed by a healthcare provider confirming that, based on 
positive laboratory test results, the student does not need to receive the MMR, varicella, or hepatitis A 
vaccines. Immunity through serologic testing is only acceptable and allowed for those students who were 
previously infected with measles, mumps, rubella, varicella, or hepatitis A; and  

(3) a Utah vaccination exemption form identifying each required vaccination from which the student is exempt 
(for medical exemption, students must provide a completed vaccination exemption form and a written 
statement signed by a licensed healthcare provider stating that, due to the physical condition of  the 
student, administration of the vaccine would endanger the student's life or health).  

 

Note: Every Utah early childhood program and school student file must have a Utah School Immunization 
Record (USIR) on site  per UT Admin Code R396-100-4 with all fields completed.  If the USIR is kept in an 
electronic form, it must be up-to-date with the most current immunization information, including any required 
documents (exemption, proof of immunity, and have all required signatures).  

 

2.  How can a student be admitted/enrolled in a school or early childhood program conditionally?  

A student who has not provided a school/early childhood program with a complete immunization record at the 
time of enrollment can attend the school or early childhood program on a conditional enrollment. Conditional 
enrollment is a period where the student’s immunization record is under review by the school or for 30 
calendar days after the day a school or early childhood program provides a notice to a student’s legally 
responsible individual. The notice must the identified deficiencies or states that the school/early childhood 
program has not received an immunization record for the student and requests the required immunizations to 
be provided to school within the conditional enrollment period to avoid exclusion. 
 
Students who do not comply at the end of the conditional enrollment period must be excluded from attending 
the school/early childhood program until they provide proper documentation of immunization records to the 
school/early childhood program.  
     
3.  Are transfer students required to provide immunization documentation at the time of enrollment to 
a new school?  

Yes. All children transferring from one Utah school to another or from schools outside Utah to a Utah school 
are required to provide the new school with the appropriate immunization information. Please exercise sound 
judgment when working with other schools to ensure immunization records are transferred in a timely 
manner. 
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     ADMISSION/ENTRY  
 

4.  What about homeless students?  
Homeless students are like any other student in your school. See the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance 
Act (re-authorized Dec. 2015): 

• The school selected must immediately enroll even if unable to produce normally required records for 
enrollment or while obtaining school records from previous school. 42 U.S.C. § 11432(g)(3)(C)(i) 

• Enrolling schools shall contact the school last attended by the student immediately to obtain relevant 
academic and other records. 42 U.S.C. § 11432(g)(3)(C)(ii)  

• If a child or youth experiencing homelessness needs to obtain immunization or other required health 
records, the enrolling school will immediately refer the parent, guardian, or unaccompanied youth to 
the local liaison, who will assist in obtaining necessary immunizations or screenings, or immunization 
or other required health records. 42 U.S.C. § 11432(g)(3)(C)(iii)  

Please work closely with your school district’s liaison and use your best judgment to ensure these students 
receive the education they are entitled to and the necessary immunizations to protect them from vaccine-
preventable diseases. Collaboration will continue with the Utah State Office of Education to ensure school 
districts do not have weighted pupil units withheld for homeless students if there have been concerted efforts 
to obtain immunizations or immunization records for them. Many of these homeless students have no 
insurance and are eligible to receive low- or no-cost immunizations through local health departments using 
vaccine provided by the Vaccines for Children (VFC) Program. For information on the Utah VFC Program, call 
(801) 538-9450. 

 

5. What is the school/early childhood program immunization record review process at enrollment? 
 
Each school/early childhood program: 
 
(a) Must request an immunization record for each student at the time the student enrolls in the school/early 

childhood program.  
 
(b) Within five business days after the day a student enrolls in a school/early childhood program, an individual 
designated by the school principal or administrator, must review each student’s immunization record to 
determine whether the record complies with the required immunizations. The record must show the student: 
 
1. Has received each vaccination required by the Utah Department of Health and Human Services under 

Section 53G-9-305;  
2. Has immunity documents for each student claiming previous infection with measles, mumps, rubella 

(MMR), varicella, or hepatitis A disease. The immunity documents must include the results of serologic 
testing for immunity, titer testing, and a written statement signed by a healthcare provider confirming that, 
based on positive laboratory test results, the student does not need to receive the MMR, varicella, or 
hepatitis A vaccines. Immunity through serologic testing is only acceptable and allowed for those students 
who were previously infected with measles, mumps, rubella, varicella, or hepatitis A;  

3. Is exempt from receiving the required vaccination under Section 53G-9-303;  
4. Qualifies for conditional enrollment under Section 53G-9-308; or  
5. Complies with the immunization requirements for military children under Section 53E-3-905.  
(c) Identify any deficiencies in the student's/child’s immunization record. 
(d) Place the student/child lacking immunization records or having deficiencies in their immunization records 
on conditional enrollment. Within five days after the day the school/early childhood program places the 
student on conditional enrollment, provide notice to the child’s legally responsible individual delivered in 
person, written notice by mail, written notice by email or other electronic means, or by phone including 
voicemail, that the school has placed the student on conditional enrollment for failure to comply with the  
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the requirements of Subsection 53G-9-302(1). The notice should describe the identified deficiencies in the 
student’s immunization record or states that the school has not received an immunization record for the 
student. Additionally, the notice should inform the legally responsible individual that the student will not be 
allowed to attend school unless the legally responsible individual cures the deficiencies or provides an 
immunization record that complies with Subsection 53G-9-302(1) within the conditional enrollment period. 
The notice should also describe the process for obtaining a required vaccination.  

 

6. What is Conditional Enrollment, and what is the Conditional Enrollment Process? 

Conditional enrollment allows a student or child without a complete immunization record to attend school or 
early childhood program while their record is being reviewed or updated. This status is limited to: 
 
1. The period during which the school or early childhood program is reviewing the student’s or child’s immunization 
record. 
2. Up to 30 calendar days after the school or early childhood program provides a formal notice regarding the student’s 
or child’s conditional enrollment. 
 
Steps for Placing a Student or a Child on Conditional Enrollment. 
 
1. Provide Notice of Conditional Enrollment 
Within five days of placing a child on conditional enrollment, the school or early childhood program must notify the 
student’s or child’s legally responsible individual (e.g., parent or guardian). The notice must include: 
• Confirmation that the student or child is placed on conditional enrollment for failing to meet immunization 

requirements . 
• A detailed list of the missing immunizations or confirmation that no immunization records have been received. 
• A warning that the student or child may be excluded from school or early childhood program unless the deficiencies 

are corrected within the conditional enrolment period. 
• Instructions for obtaining the necessary vaccinations or documentation. 
2. Delivery of Notice 
The notice must be provided: 
• In the enroller’s preferred language, when possible. 
• Using one of the following agreed-upon methods: 
a) In-person delivery  
b) By mail 
c) By email or other electronic communication 
d) By phone, including voicemail  
 
Ending Conditional Enrollment 
 
3. Removing Conditional Enrollment Status 
The school or early childhood program must remove the student’s or child’s conditional enrollment status once the 
required immunization records or valid exemptions have been submitted 
 
4. Consequences of Non-Compliance 
If a student or child does not provide the necessary immunization documentation or exemption forms by the end of the 
conditional enrollment period, the school or early childhood program must prohibit the student from attending until the 
requirements are met. 

 
7. Can Schools or Early Childhood Programs Extend the Conditional Enrollment Period? 
Yes. At the end of the conditional enrollment period, a school principal or administrator may grant an extension if: 
1. The extension is medically necessary to complete all required vaccination doses. 
2. The school principal or administrator and a school nurse, health official, or a health official designee, including:  
a) a social service provider, or  
b) a culturally competent and trauma-informed community representative agree that an additional extension is likely to 

help the student to comply with immunization record requirements during the additional extension period. 
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8. What is the process for claiming an exemption from the required vaccines? 
Students/children claiming an exemption from the required vaccinations must have their legally responsible 
individual complete an on-line educational module (free of charge), or in-person consultation (fee of up to 
$25) at a local health department, AND provide a copy of the completed form to the school/early childhood 
program official. Completion of the online education module or in-person consultation at a local health 
department must be completed for all types of exemptions. 

• Utah allows for three types of exemptions: medical, personal, or religious. 
• The legally responsible individual who claims the exemption for the student/child must complete the 

online education module, free of charge, at immunize.utah.gov AND present a copy of the vaccination 
exemption form to the school/early childhood program.  

• If the legally responsible individual who claims the exemption for the student/child declines to take the 
online education module, he/she can obtain a vaccination exemption form from a local health 
department and receive an in-person consultation. There is a fee of up to $25 to cover the costs of 
providing an in-person consultation. 

• For a medical exemption from required immunizations, the student's/child’s legally responsible 
individual must provide to the student's/child’s school/early childhood program a completed Utah 
vaccination exemption form and a written statement signed by a licensed healthcare provider stating 
that, due to the physical condition of the student/child, administration of the required vaccine would 
endanger the student's/child’s life or health.  

• For personal/religious exemption from the required vaccinations, the student's/child’s legally 
responsible individual must provide to the student's/child’s school/early childhood program a 
completed Utah vaccination exemption form, stating that the student/child is exempt from vaccination 
because of a personal or religious belief.  

• A copy of the Utah vaccination exemption form must be attached to the Utah School Immunization 
Record (USIR) and kept in the student’s cumulative folder. If a medical exemption is claimed, a written 
statement from a licensed healthcare provider must also be claimed and attached to the USIR.  

 
9. When is an exemption form update required?   
A student will need to submit a new exemption form or updated immunization documentation if:  
• Their existing exemption form does not exempt them from all required vaccines for K-6 enrollment or 

grades 7-12 enrollment, and  
• They lack documentation of immunization or history of disease for hepatitis A, varicella, or MMR (if 

applicable).   

In these cases, schools must request: 

• Proof of immunization or history of disease for hepatitis A, varicella, or MMR (if applicable), or 
• A new exemption form covering all required vaccines  

10. When is an exemption form update not required? 
• If a parent or guardian has submitted an exemption form at the preschool or daycare level that covers all 

vaccines required for kindergarten through sixth grade or 7th through 12th grade, they do not need 
to submit a new exemption form when the child enrolls in those grades. The existing form is considered 
valid. 

• A student does not need to renew their exemption form for 7th grade through 12th grade if: 
• Their existing exemption form covers all vaccines required for grades 7-12, or  
• Their existing exemption form exempts them from the vaccines they choose to be exempted from, and 
• They have documentation of vaccination for the vaccines they are not exempted from, and/or  
• They have a history of disease documentation for hepatitis A, varicella, or MMR (if applicable). 

11. Some parents or schools have the signed outdated Utah School Immunization Record card for a 
history of chickenpox disease for their students. Since the Utah School Immunization Record card 
was signed by these parents prior to July 1, 2018, can school/child care facilities accept them as 
proof of immunity now that the Rule has changed?  
Yes. Schools or child care facilities can accept the old signed Utah School Immunization Record cards as 
proof of immunity for chickenpox disease only. 
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12. What if a student or child has previously been diagnosed by a physician with a vaccine-
preventable disease? 
 
If a student or child has immunity due to a previous infection with measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), 
chickenpox, or hepatitis A, documentation from a healthcare provider must be provided to the school or early 
childhood program. This documentation must include positive serological (titer) test results and a signed 
statement from the provider confirming that, based on the positive laboratory test results, the student does not 
need the MMR, varicella, or hepatitis A vaccine.  
 
Note: Immunity through serologic testing is only acceptable and allowed for those previously infected 
with measles, mumps, rubella, varicella, or hepatitis A. Schools or early childhood programs must attach 
the immunity document from the healthcare provider to the Utah School Immunization Record.  
 
13. Are schools or early childhood programs required to maintain a current list of all students’ 
immunization status? 
 
Yes. Each school or early childhood program must maintain a current list of all enrolled students, including:  
 

• A list  of students the school has received a valid and complete immunization record for; 
• A list of students who are exempt from receiving a required vaccine;  
• A list of students who are allowed to attend school/early childhood programs under conditional 

enrollment status under Section 53G-9-308; and 
• A list  that specifically identifies each disease against which a student is not immunized. 

 
Upon the request of an official from a local health department in the event of a disease outbreak, a school 
principal or administrator must: 
 
(a) notify the legally responsible of any student who is not immune to the outbreak disease, providing  
     information regarding steps the legally responsible individual may take to protect students;  
(b) identify each student who is not immune to the outbreak disease; and  
(c) for a period determined by the local health department not to exceed the duration of the disease outbreak,  
     do one of the following at the discretion of the school principal or administrator after obtaining approval  
     from the local health department:  

(i) provide a separate educational environment for non-immune students, that ensures the protection of the  
    non immune students as well as the protection of the remainder of the student body; or 
(ii) prevent each student who is not immune to the outbreak disease from attending school. 

 
A name appearing on the list of all the enrolled students is subject to confidentiality requirements described in 
Section 26B-1-212 and Section 53E-9-202.  
 
14. What is the definition of a legally responsible individual? 
A legally responsible individual is defined as the parent or parents, a legal guardian, or an adult sibling of a 
student or child who does not have a legal guardian.  
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     EXEMPTIONS 

             

1.  Are there any allowable exemptions?  
Yes. The Utah Immunization Rule for Students allows exemptions to be claimed for medical, religious, or   
personal reasons. These exemptions are permitted for enrollment in early childhood programs, as well as 
public, private, charter, and parochial schools for kindergarten through twelfth grade.  

2.  Are exempted children to be excluded from school in the event of an outbreak? 

Yes. In the event of an outbreak, schools should identify each student who is not immune to the disease-this 
includes students who are conditionally enrolled, extended conditionally enrolled, out of compliance, or those 
who have claimed an exemption and have not received the relevant immunization. These students should be 
encouraged to complete their immunizations. School should either exclude them from attendance or provide a 
separate educational environment to protect both the exempted students and the rest of the student body. 
 
3.What should schools do when a student’s exemption form states exemption from all vaccines, but 
the student has since received some and is only exempt from certain vaccine?  

For vaccine-preventable outbreak investigations and for accurate reporting and auditing purposes, it is best 
for parents to update the exemption form to reflect the student’s current immunization or exemption status . 

 

     IMMUNIZATION RECORD REVIEW AND REPORTING 

 

1.  Can a school or early childhood program maintain immunization records in a computer database 
ONLY?  

No. According to the Utah Immunization Rule for Students (R396-100-4), the Utah School Immunization 
Record (USIR) is the official immunization record for all students enrolled in any early childhood program, or 
in public, private, charter, or parochial schools. The USIR should be used to verify a student’s immunization 
status.  

 

The Utah Statewide Immunization Information System (USIIS) allows schools and other facilities access  
immunization records statewide and to track and record immunizations. A school or early childhood program 
may enroll in USIIS and print out the USIR for its students.  

 

Unless a school or early childhood program is enrolled in and actively using USIIS, the USIR must be 
completed manually and placed in the student’s cumulative file. If a school has its own database, it may be 
used to track follow-up and generate reports—provided it is done accurately. However, a USIR must still be 
included in each student’s cumulative file as a backup. A database printout alone is not acceptable.  For 
questions about USIIS or to enroll your school or program in USIIS, contact the Utah Immunization Program 
at (801) 538-9450. 

 

2. Where can I get USIR form?  

You can print the USIR cards from our program website at https://immunize.utah.gov/wp-
content/uploads/SchoolChildhoodPrintable/USIR-2022July_fillable.pdf 

 

3.  What about the USIR form filling requirements? 

Schools must use the most current version of the USIR (07/2022) card for students entering kindergarten, 
7th grade, and for students transferring from another state. If an existing student has an older version of the 
USIR and is required to receive a vaccine not listed on that version, the school must either transfer all 
immunization information to the most current USIR (07/2022) card or staple the updated USIR to the original. 
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Schools must also attach the following documentation to the current USIR form: an immunity verification 
statement, the Utah vaccination exemption form, or a previous USIR card  that includes a parent signature 
verifying chickenpox disease history.  

 

4. A child received vaccinations in another country. Can those records be accepted?  

Yes, they can be accepted if the vaccines were administered according to the same dosing schedule used in 
the United States. However, many foreign countries follow a different schedule. The Utah immunization rule 
for students is based on the U.S. schedule. 

 

5.  Is a school-age student attending an early childhood program required to have an immunization    
record on file at that facility?  

Yes. A current immunization record must be maintained for every school-age student attending an early 
childhood program, even if the student only attends before-or after-school hours.  

 

6.  Are schools required to maintain immunization records for preschool children?  

Yes. Preschool children attending a public or private school must have a completed Utah School 
Immunization Record (USIR) on file, along with all supporting documentation for any exemptions or history of 
disease, if applicable.  

 

7.  A parent insists that their child has been vaccinated but cannot provide written    
documentation. Can the child be admitted to a school or an early childhood program?  

Yes, the child may be conditionally enrolled, and the facility is responsible to following the requirements for 
conditional enrollment.  

 

8.  A parent has a partial record and/or a statement signed by a physician stating, “all doses 
received,” “complete,” “up to date,” “primary series complete,” or other similar wording. Can this be  
accepted as proof of immunizations?  

No. Statements that do not include complete dates for all doses received are not acceptable for school or 
early childhood program attendance. The parent should contact their healthcare provider and request a new  
record that includes the names of all vaccines administered along with the dates they were given. 

 

9. What is the four-day grace period?  

The four-day grace period was implemented in the 2002 General Recommendations from the U.S.   
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices. The four-day grace period should be used for auditing  
purposes only. It allows the record reviewer to give a four-day grace period if a dose of any vaccine was  
given too early. Four days is the limit. It should not be used to schedule subsequent doses of vaccines. It 
should be used with discretion and with the understanding it is for auditing purposes only. The four-day grace 
period should not be applied to the 28-day interval between live vaccines not administered at the same visit.  

 

10. We occasionally encounter teen-agers who received 4 doses of IPV before their fourth birthday. 
Should we recommend a 5th dose of IPV for these children? 

Generally, no. ACIP revised its recommendation for IPV in June 2009 to include a dose at 4 through 6 years 
regardless of the number of doses prior to age 4 years. However, ACIP did not recommend retroactive 
application of the new minimum age rule for the fourth dose. For children receiving their fourth dose prior to 
August 7, 2009, four doses separated by at least 4 weeks is sufficient, unless the teenager is traveling to a 
polio-endemic area (Reference: http://www.immunize.org/askexperts/experts_pol.asp).  
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11.  Should special education students be included in all annual immunization reports? 

Students in special education programs should follow requirements for the grade they are in. If they are not assigned to a 
specific grade, they should follow the requirements for students of a similar age. 

Students over 18 years of age who are still enrolled in a special education program and have not completed high school 
should also follow the requirements for students of a similar age and be included in the annual immunization reports. 

However, Schools post-high school students enrolled in special programs should not be included in these reports. 

12. The immunization record shows that some vaccines were given at intervals longer than those  
recommended. Do these vaccines need to be repeated?  

No. All doses given at intervals longer than recommended are valid doses. A longer interval does not affect the 
effectiveness of a vaccine. 

13. How does Utah determine the required immunization schedule?  

Utah’s Immunization Rule for Students is based upon the “Recommended Childhood Immunization    
Schedule” published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This schedule is developed from the 
recommendations of the National Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). The ACIP includes 
representatives from both the public health and the private medical sectors, including the American Academy of Pediatrics 
(AAP) and the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). To establish Utah’s requirements, the Utah Scientific 
Vaccine Advisory Committee evaluates the ACIP recommendations and determines if the recommendations align with 
Utah’s unique needs and makes recommendations to the Utah Department of Health and Human Services as to which 
vaccines should be required for school entry.  

14. Why must vaccines be repeated if received before the minimum age or interval? 

Children who receive vaccines before the minimum age or interval may not develop an adequate antibody response to the 
immunization. Therefore, even though a child physically receives the shot, it may have been ineffective in protecting them 
against disease. By consistently adhering to the minimum age and interval requirements for all vaccines, children are 
more likely to develop adequate immunity. Refer to the minimum age and interval chart on page 30.      

15. If a dose of DTaP or Tdap is inadvertently given to a child/student for whom the product is not indicated (e.g., 
wrong age group), how do we rectify the situation?  

• Tdap given to a child younger than age seven years as either dose 1, 2, or 3, is NOT valid. Repeat with DTaP as 
soon as feasible. 

• Tdap given to a child younger than age seven years as either dose 4 or 5 can be counted as valid for DTaP dose 4 or 
5. 

• DTaP inadvertently administered at or after 7 years:  

 -Children age 7–9 years: DTaP may count as part of catch-up series.  Routine Tdap dose at age 11-12 years 
 should  be administered.   

 -Children age 10-18 years: Count dose of DTaP as the adolescent Tdap booster. 

• Tdap administered at 7-10 years of age: 

 -Children age 7-9 years who receive Tdap should  receive the routine Tdap dose at age 11-12  years. 

 -Children age 10 years who receive Tdap do not need to receive the routine Tdap dose at age 11-12 years. 

*Fully vaccinated = 5 valid doses of DTaP or 4 valid doses of DTaP if  dose 4 was administered at age 4 years or 
older.  

16. We frequently see children (mostly from certain foreign countries) who have received 6 or more doses of 
polio vaccine, all administered before 4 years of age. How do we handle this when assessing the child's 
immunization history?  

It is common practice in many developing countries to administer oral polio vaccine (OPV) to children during both routine 
visits and periodic vaccination campaigns, so a child’s record may indicate more than 4 doses. Some of these doses may 
not be valid according to the U.S. immunization schedule. Doses are considered valid if written documentation indicates 
that doses of polio vaccine were given after 6 weeks of age and the vaccine received was listed as IPV or trivalent OPV 
(tOPV). A record simply indicating “OPV” also is acceptable if the OPV was administered before April 1, 2016, and it was 
not noted as being administered during a vaccination campaign. There specific criteria for OPV documentation because 
only trivalent polio vaccine doses count as valid for the U.S. polio vaccination schedule. Trivalent OPV ceased to be used 
globally in April 2016. OPV administered before April 1, 2016, generally was tOPV. However, “OPV” doses recorded as 
given during a mass vaccination campaign before April 2016 do not count as valid because such campaigns may have 
used monovalent or bivalent OPV. If the history is of a complete series of IPV or tOPV in any combination, at least one 
dose should be administered on or after 4 years of age and at least 6 months after the previous dose. If a complete series 
cannot be identified that meets these criteria, then the child should receive as many doses of IPV as needed to complete 
the U.S. recommended schedule. 

Reference: updated on July 23, 2023 (https://www.immunize.org/askexperts/experts_pol.asp). 
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     COMPLIANCE ISSUES 

      1.  What criteria are used to determine whether a student is in compliance with Utah’s   
           immunization requirements?  

To determine if a student meets the requirements of the Utah Immunization Rule for Students, the following must be 
considered: 

(a) the student’s age; 

(b)  whether the student is in a school or early childhood program (requirements may differ depending on which facility  
      the student is attending; i.e., Hib is not required for entry into kindergarten). 

(c) whether the student’s immunization history indicates: 

• Verification by a a liscenced healthcare provider, registered nurse, an authorized representattive of a local health   
 department, an authorized representative of the department, or a pharmcist. 

• The month, day, and year each vaccine was administered. 

• Sufficient spacing intervals between doses. 

(d)  Whether the student has claimed an exemption and submitted a copy to the school  or early childhood program. 

(e)  Whether the child has immunity from measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), chickenpox, or hepatitis A diseases and 
submitted the appropriate documentation.  

It is difficult to describe all possible situations that a school or early childhood program might encounter in its efforts to 
maintain compliance with the regulations and limit the spread of vaccine-preventable diseases. If you have specific 
questions that cannot be answered by this guidebook, please call the Utah Immunization Program for consultation. 

2. Who is responsible for proper immunization compliance? 

• Legally Responsible Individual of the student/child: 

•  Is responsible for obtaining all age-appropriate immunizations for their children and providing valid immunization 
records to the school or early childhood program.  

• Principal/Early Childhood Program Official:  

• (a)  has the ultimate responsibility to ensure that students attending school or early childhood programs are in 
compliance with Utah’s immunization requirements. This includes ensuring valid immunization records are complete 
and on file as well as determining whether a student has complied with the follow-up for additional information 
(records or doses). 

• (b) Should exclude students who are out of compliance after notifying the parent or guardian that the student is out    
of compliance and will be excluded from school. 

 (c) Is responsible for ensuring that annual immunization reports are submitted to the Utah Department of Health      
 and Human Services.  

 
3. Can a school scan the Utah School Immunization Record (USIR), exemption form, and immunity documents if the 
school only uses an electronic student cumulative folder or permanent record file? Yes, maintaining an electronic/
scanned copy of the USIR, student exemption form, and immunity documents for each student claiming previous infection with 
measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), varicella, or hepatitis A disease as part of the student’s permanent cumulative record complies 
with the Utah Statutory Code. This eliminates the need for a hard copy record since everything is electronically.  When a district 
or school uses electronic student cumulative folders, the following criteria must be met: 

1. Accuracy Check: School personnel must ensure that all fields on the USIR, exemption form, and immunity document and 
healthcare provider documentation for the history of disease are completed accurately before scanning into the file. The USIR 
must be up-to-date with the most current immunization information, including any required documents and signatures.  

2. Accessibility: The electronic copy of the USIR, student exemption form, and healthcare provider documentation must be 
available to the Utah Department of Health and Human Services, or local health departments as required for audits and to verify 
immunization records, exemptions, or history of disease documentation. 

3. Outbreak Protocol: Schools must follow an outbreak protocol for excluding all non-immunized or exempt students.  

Note: A history of disease is only accepted for previous infections with measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), varicella, or hepatitis A. 
The immunity documents must include serologic testing results for immunity, titer testing, and a written statement signed by a 
healthcare provider confirming that, based on positive laboratory test results, the student does not need to receive the MMR, 
varicella, or hepatitis A vaccines. 

If a student transfers to a new school, the school or early childhood program the child transfers from must either transfer the 
USIR, any immunity documents, and any exemption form upon the request of the student’s legally responsible individual  or 
when the school transfers any of the student's records to the new school.  
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              RESOURCES 

         

1. Where can I find more information about immunizations?  

For more information about immunizations, contact the Utah Immunization Program or visit our website at 
immunize.utah.gov. This guidebook is available on the website. Please visit the site periodically to stay 
updated on the latest immunization information. 

 Utah Immunization Program 

 Phone: (801) 538-9450  

 Fax: (801) 538-9440  

  Immunization Hotline: 1-800-275-0659 

  

2.  What other sources of information are available on the internet?  

There are many sources for great information on the internet. See the following list for some examples. 

• American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) –  Policy statements, student and community information, 
 “Red Book” order information. www.aap.org 

 

• Bill & Melinda Gates Children’s Vaccine Program – A non-profit organization which focuses on 
 children in developing countries. Information is also applicable in the United States.  

 www.gatesfoundation.org 

 

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) – Several websites and phone numbers with 
 timely and accurate information  for students, parents, the community, and school nurses. CDC Home 
Page: www.cdc.gov 

• International Travel – online health information and recommended immunizations by   
 geographic areas; the latest news on international disease outbreaks. The most recent 
 “Health Information for International Travel”  (CDC Yellow Book) is available at: www.cdc.gov/travel. 

•  Hepatitis Branch – www.cdc.gov/hepatitis 

 

•  Spanish Language – www.cdc.gov/spanish 

 

•  Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) – www.cdc.gov/mmwr 

 

•  Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) – Vaccine Education Center; great resources for 
 families and professionals www.vaccine.chop.edu 

 

•  Immunize.org is a premier non-profit web-based resource for practical, user-friendly immunization 
information - www.immunize.org  

 

• The National Network of Immunization Coalitions is a project of Immunize.org: 
https://www.immunizationcoalitions.org/ 

 

Vaccine Information Statements (VIS) – English and many other languages www.immunize.org/vis 

http://www.immunize-utah.org
http://www.aap.org
http://www.childrensvaccine.org
http://www.cdc.gov
http://www.cdc.gov/travel
http://www.cdc.gov/hepatitis
http://www.cdc.gov/spanish
http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr
http://www.vaccine.chop.edu
http://www.immunize.org
http://www.immunize.org/vis


     

 

  

•  National Alliance for Hispanic Health – Immunizations for All Ages Programs; a great Hispanic    
 immunization resource for schedules, news briefs, videos, and webinars. 

Website:  www.hispanichealth.org or call 202-387-5000. 

    

•  The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) – Vaccine Adverse Events Reporting System (VAERS)  
 This site explains this safety system and provides vaccine information.   

 Website: www.vaers.hhs.gov 

 FDA Information: 1-888-FDA-INFO  

 (1-888-463-6332)   

    

•  The National Network for Immunization Information – 

 Website: www.immunizationinfo.org 

    

•  The Vaccine Page – www.vaccines.org  

 

Toll Free Numbers  

•  CDC Immunization Information:1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636) 

•  FDA Information: 1-888-FDA-INFO (1-888-463-6332) 
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http://www.hispanichealth.org
http://www.vaers.hhs.gov
http://www.immunizationinfo.org
http://www.vaccines.org


 The following pages are sample letters that may be used to notify parents of immunization   
 requirements. These letters may be modified by adding local letterhead, clinic hours, phone  
 numbers, etc. 

 

1. Early Childhood Program Immunization Requirements  

2. English “Exclusion Notice” for Inadequate Immunizations 

3. Spanish “Exclusion Notice” for Inadequate Immunizations  

4. English “30-Day Conditional Enrollment Notice” 

5. Spanish “30-Day Conditional Enrollment Notice” 
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APPENDIX C  – COMMUNICATION WITH PARENTS 



E 

Early Childhood Programs Immunization Requirements 

 

 

Date: 

 

Dear Parent/Guardian: 

 

 

Utah law requires children enrolled in early childhood programs to be appropriately immunized for their age 
with the following vaccines: 

 

• Diphtheria, Tetanus, acellular Pertussis (DTaP) 

• Measles, Mumps, Rubella (MMR) 

• Polio     

• Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)  

• Hepatitis A  

• Hepatitis B    

• Varicella (Chickenpox) 

• Pneumococcal (PCV) 

     

It is your responsibility to have your child immunized and to provide this facility with a medically verified, date- 
and dose-specific immunization record for all the required immunizations your child has received. This is 
required for admission to this facility. 

 

Factors regarding when your child gets which doses of vaccine include: 

• current age of child; 

• when he/she began the immunization series; and 

• grade, if he/she attends school. 

 

For specific information on which immunizations your child should receive, please consult with your child’s 
healthcare provider. 

 

Sincerely, 
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I   

Exclusion Notice For Inadequate Immunizations 

Date:  

Dear Parent/Guardian: 

A recent review of immunization records shows that your child, [name], is currently not in compliance with Utah’s School 

Immunization Law for Students (53G-9-302). Therefore, under Utah Statutory Code 53G-9-308, your child will 

be excluded from attending school on [mm/dd/yyyy]. We regret having to take this action, but state law requires that 

children must be appropriately immunized to attend a Utah school or early childhood program. Our facility supports this 

policy.  

 

Please provide our facility with the immunization records for your child’s missing vaccines.  If your child is not immunized 

due to medical, religious, or personal reasons, you are required to provide us with the appropriate exemption form. If 

your child has immunity against the diseases for measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), hepatitis A, or chickenpox because 

they previously contracted the disease, you need to provide us with the necessary immunity documents, including the 

results of serological/titer testing and a written statement signed by a healthcare provider confirming this.  Your child 

cannot attend school until we receive this information. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you have questions or need additional information, please call [telephone number]. 

Sincerely, 

Name 

Title 

Vaccine 
Dose in Question 

(circle dose number) 

Reason 

(see codes 
to right) 

DTaP/DT/Td* 1        2        3         4        5  

Tdap* 
1 

 

 

Polio 1         2        3       4  

MMR (Measles, Mumps, 
Rubella) 

1            2    

 

 

Hepatitis B 
1           2          3 

 

 

Haemophilus influenzae 
type b (Hib) 

1         2        3       4 

 

 

Varicella (Chickenpox) 
1            2 

 

 

Hepatitis A 
1           2  

 

 

Pneumococcal (PCV) 1         2        3       4       5 
 

Meningococcal  Conjugate 1 
 

A. Dates or doses 
     are missing or  
     incomplete. 
 

B. Previous dose(s)    
     was/were given   
     too close together. 
 

C. Previous dose(s)  
     was/were given at  
     too young an age. 
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  *D = Diphtheria 

  *T = Tetanus 

  *P = Pertussis  
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I  3 

330 Calendar Day Conditional Enrollment Notice  

 

Date:  

 

To the legally responsible individual of [Student/Child’s Name], 

 

The purpose of this letter is to inform you that, in reviewing your student/child’s immunization record, we have noticed that we did not 
receive all or some of the required immunization records for school/early childhood program entry. This information is required by  
Utah Statutory Code 53G-9-302. Therefore, we have placed your student/child on conditional enrollment status in accordance with 
Utah Statutory Code 53G-9-308. This means that you have 30 calendar days to provide proof of immunizations, an exemption form, or 

proof of immunity against the diseases for measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), hepatitis A, or chickenpox. If your child previously 
contracted the disease, you need to provide us with the necessary immunity documents, including the results of serological/titer 
testing and a written statement signed by a healthcare provider confirming that. Please provide this information to us by [deadline 
date] Your student/child is allowed to attend school/early childhood program during the 30-calendar-day conditional enrollment 
period. 

 

Your child is missing the following immunization(s):  

□   DTaP (Diphtheria, Tetanus, acellular Pertussis) 

□   Tdap 

              □   Polio 

□   MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella) 

□   Hepatitis A 

□   Hepatitis B 

□   Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) 

□   Varicella (chickenpox) 

□   Pneumococcal Conjugate (PCV) 

□   Meningococcal Conjugate 

 □   No immunization record  

 

Possible places to take your child to receive the missing required immunization(s): his/her healthcare provider, your local health 
department immunization clinic, or your local pharmacy. 

 

If you wish to obtain a vaccination exemption form, you must either complete the online Utah exemption module at immunize.utah.gov 
or visit your local health department to obtain an exemption form. If you choose to complete the exemption form in person from a local 
health department, you may have to pay a fee. A copy of the exemption form must be presented to the school/early childhood 
program. For a medical exemption from vaccination, you must present to the school a completed vaccination exemption form and a 
written notice signed by a licensed healthcare provider stating that due to the physical condition of the student, administration of the 
vaccine would endanger the student’s life or health.  

If your child has immunity against the diseases for measles, mumps, rubella (MMR), hepatitis A, or chickenpox because they 
previously contracted the disease, you need to provide us with the necessary immunity documents, including the results of 
serological/titer testing and a written statement signed by a healthcare provider confirming that. 

 
If we do not receive the above information from you by the previously indicated date, we will be forced to exclude your child from 

attendance in school/early childhood program under Utah Statutory Code 53G-9-308.  

 

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at [Telephone Number]. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

[Name] 

Title (Principal/Director/Nurse/Secretary designated by the school or early childhood program) 
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APPENDIX D – COMMON VACCINE NAMES 

 The following table is provided as a reference for school and early childhood program personnel,   
 as well as healthcare professionals who evaluate immunization records. To lessen any confusion,  
 providers documenting current vaccines should use generic names (i.e., DTaP, MMR,  
 Hepatitis B) instead of brand names. 

 

Not every vaccine in this table is required for entry into a Utah school or early childhood program.  
To verify whether a vaccine is required, see pages 27-29 for the summary of requirements.  

 

Some vaccines listed are not currently in use, but were used in the past. These vaccines are  
included to assist in evaluating immunization records for compliance. 

 

This list does not include vaccine brands available in other countries. For a complete list of U.S. 
and Foreign Vaccines, refer to the “Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable  
Diseases” (Pink Book).  
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APPENDIX D – COMMON VACCINE NAMES 

Vaccine/Combination Vaccine 

(by Generic Name or Trade Name) 

Vaccine Components and Abbreviations 

ACEL-IMUNE® Diphtheria.Tetanus, acellular Pertussis (DTaP) 

ActHIB® Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) 

Adacel® Tetanus/Diphtheria/acellular Pertussis (Tdap) 

BOOSTRIX® Tetanus/Diphtheria/acellular Pertussis (Tdap) 

COMVAX® Hepatitis B/Haemophilus influenzae type b 

DT Diphtheria/Tetanus (DT) 

DTaP Diphtheria/Tetanus/acellular Pertussis (DTaP) 

DTP Diphtheria/Tetanus/whole cell Pertussis  (DTP) 

DAPTACEL® Diphtheria/Tetanus/acellular Pertussis  (DTaP) 

Engerix-B® Hepatitis B (HepB) 

GARDASIL® Human Papillomavirus (HPV) 

HAVRIX® Hepatitis A (HepA) 

HibTITER® Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) 

HPV Human Papillomavirus (HPV) 

INFANRIX® Diphtheria/Tetanus/acellular Pertussis (DTaP) 

IPV / IPOL® Polio (Inactivated Polio Vaccine) (IPV) 

KINRIX® Diphtheria/Tetanus/acellular Pertussis, Inactivated Polio Vaccine 
(DTaP/IPV) 

Menactra® Meningococcal Conjugate Vaccine (MCV4 or MenACWY ) 

Menomune® Meningococcal Polysaccharide Vaccine (MPSV4) 

MR Measles/Rubella (MR) 

MMR Measles/Mumps/Rubella (MMR) 

M-M-R II® Measles/Mumps/Rubella 

OPV / ORIMUNE® Polio (Oral Polio Vaccine) 

PEDIARIXTM Diphtheria/Tetanus/acellular Pertussis, Hepatitis B, Inactivated Polio  

PedvaxHIB® Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) 

Pentacel® 
Diphtheria/Tetanus/acellular Pertussis, Inactivated Polio,  

Haemophilus influenzae type b (DTaP/IPV/Hib) 

Pneumovax® Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (also called PPV23) 

Prevnar® Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV 7 or PCV13) 

ProHIBITTM Haemophilus influenzae type b (only for children >18 months of age) 

ProQuad® Measles, Mumps, Rubella, Varicella 

RECOMBIVAX HB® Hepatitis B (Hep B) 

RotaTeq® Rotavirus  (Rota) 

ROTARIX® Rotavirus 

Td Tetanus/ Diphtheria (for >7 years of age) 

TETRAMUNE® Diphtheria/Tetanus/whole cell Pertussis/Haemophilus influenzae type b 
(DTP/Hib) 

TriHIBIT® Diphtheria/Tetanus/acellular Pertussis/Haemophilus influenzae type b 
(DTaP/Hib) 

Tripedia® Diphtheria/Tetanus/acellular Pertussis (DTaP) 

TWINRIX® Hepatitis A/Hepatitis B  (Hep B/Hep A) 

VAQTA® Hepatitis A (Hepatitis A) 

VARIVAX® Varicella (Chickenpox) 
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 SAMPLE FORMS 

 
The following pages contain sample forms provided by the Utah Immunization Program:     

 

1. Sample Exemption Form  

2. Sample Utah School Immunization Record (USIR) card 

 

 

APPENDIX E  – SAMPLE UTAH IMMUNIZATION PROGRAM FORMS 



Page 70 

APPENDIX E  – UTAH IMMUNIZATION PROGRAM SAMPLE FORMS 
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APPENDIX E – UTAH IMMUNIZATION PROGRAM SAMPLE FORMS 
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APPENDIX E  – UTAH IMMUNIZATION PROGRAM SAMPLE FORMS 



APPENDIX F - UTAH SCHOOL AND CHILDCARE EMPLOYEE 
IMMUNIZATION RECOMMENDATIONS 
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Educational institutions and childcare facilities are potential high-risk areas for transmission of vaccine-preventable 

diseases. While immunization is an important health requirement for students in Utah schools and childcare 

facilities, it is equally important for staff in these settings to be protected against vaccine-preventable diseases. 

Employee immunization can decrease the number of days teachers, staff and students miss due to illness. 

Absence due to sickness causes disruption in class schedules resulting in missed educational learning 

opportunities. Most importantly, teachers, staff and students who come to school sick can spread disease, suffer 

pain, and discomfort. Additionally, vaccine-preventable disease outbreaks in school and childcare settings can 

result in enormous costs for staff, students, parents, employers and public health. 

The Utah Department of Health and Human Services recommends that prior to employment in Utah schools and 

licensed childcare 

facilities, all full- and part-time employees, including teachers, substitute teachers, student teachers, and staff,  

show proof of vaccination against: Measles, Mumps, Rubella, Hepatitis B, Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis, Influenza, 

Varicella, and Hepatitis A. This recommendation is in accordance with the recommendations of the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP).  

*School districts and childcare facilities are encouraged to keep employee vaccination records on file. 

 

1 All full- and part-time teachers, student teachers, substitute teachers and staff.  
2 Proof of immunity to Measles, Mumps and Rubella is recommended for staff of licensed group and family childcare centers.  

  MMR vaccine is recommended for teachers and staff in other school settings.  
3 Varicella vaccine is recommended for those who do not have documentation of age-appropriate immunization, a reliable   

  history of varicella disease (physician diagnosis or personal recall) or serologic evidence of immunity.  
4All adults should receive a single dose of Tdap, especially those who have close contact with infants less than 12 months of  

  age (e.g., childcare staff). There is no minimum interval between Tdap and a previous dose of Td. 
 

*The Utah Statewide Immunization Information System (USIIS) is a statewide information immunization system that contains 
  immunization histories for Utah residents of all ages. Many school districts and childcare facilities are enrolled in USIIS. 
  Employers can input and maintain their staff immunization status through USIIS. For more information on how to enroll in 
  USIIS, please contact the Utah Immunization Program at 801-538-9450.       
             

             October 2022 

Recommended Immunizations For Teachers and Childcare Staff1
 

Vaccine Persons Born Before 1957 Persons Born In or After 1957 

MMR2
 (Measles, Mumps, Rubella) 

1 dose for women of childbearing age 

and for all adults not born in the U.S. 

2 doses of MMR,  at least 1 month  

apart 

Varicella (Chickenpox)
3 2 doses 

Hepatitis A 2 doses 

Hepatitis B 2 or 3 doses depending on the brand 

 Td/Tdap4 (Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis   

 [Whooping Cough])  
1 dose of Tdap, then Td or Tdap booster every 10 years 

 Influenza 
Annual influenza vaccine is recommended for everyone 6 months of age and 

older 



APPENDIX G – TIPS FOR TALKING  TO PARENTS ABOUT VACCINES  

Page 74 

A NOTE ON VACCINES FROM YOUR CHILDCARE PROVIDER, PEDIATRICIANS, AND THE UTAH 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

 
We value the health and safety of your children. As a state-licensed childcare program, we support and must adhere to state 
immunization requirements for all children enrolled in our program to ensure their health and safety. It is critical for children 
attending childcare to receive all recommended vaccines to protect themselves and the other children in our program who 
are too young to be fully immunized. 
 

Why immunizations are so important for children in childcare settings 

• Children younger than five years of age are especially at risk for getting infections because their immune systems 

have not yet built up the defenses to fight infection. Immunizations help children build up these defenses. 

• Many childcare programs include children less than one year of age. These children are at highest risk for getting 

vaccine-preventable infections because they are still receiving important immunizations. For example, children 

aren’t fully protected against pertussis (whooping cough) until they are six months old. If infants less than six months 

of age are exposed to someone with whooping cough, they are at high risk for becoming infected and having 

serious illness or even death. 

 

Rules and recommendations 

• Utah requires your childcare provider to have written proof of each child’s vaccines. A parent may get an exemption 

for their child to not be vaccinated. Your childcare provider must also have written proof (a legally valid exemption 

form) for all exemptions. 

• Disease outbreaks sometimes occur in childcare programs. If there is even one case of a vaccine-preventable 

disease at your child’s child care program, children for which the facility does not have written proof of the child’s 

up-to-date status will be excluded from childcare until the child is vaccinated or risk of the disease has passed 

(sometimes up to 21 days). 

 

Vaccine safety and effectiveness 

• All vaccines undergo long and careful review. 

• Vaccines do not cause autism. Many independent studies have convincingly shown that there is no link between 

autism and vaccines. 

• No vaccine, or any medication or treatment, is completely risk-free. Common side effects (tenderness and redness) 

are mild, but serious side effects (such as allergic reactions) are very rare. 

• When parents choose not to vaccinate their child, they are trading the small risk of side effects from the vaccine for 

the risk of getting a vaccine-preventable disease. Vaccines keep disease away; when we stop giving them, diseases 

that can be prevented by vaccines return. 

• While some diseases, like measles are not common in Utah, they are only a plane ride away. 

 

More information 

• Free or low-cost vaccines are available for those who qualify through the Utah Vaccines for Children (VFC) Program  

 https://immunize.utah.gov/vaccines-for-children-program/  

• For more information on vaccines and the diseases they prevent, contact your healthcare provider or the Utah 

Immunization Program at 1-800-275-0659 or visit  immunize.utah.gov.  

02/2020 

https://immunize.utah.gov/vaccines-for-children-program/


APPENDIX G – HOW DO I FILL OUT THE UTAH SCHOOL IMMUNIZATION RECORD (USIR)? 
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School and childcare student files must have a 

USIR. 

Every Utah school and early childhood program student file must 

include a USIR (UT Admin Code R396-100-4). If the USIR is kept in       

an electronic form, it must be up-to-date with the most current 

immunization information and any required documents (see sections 3 

& 4 below). and have all the required signatures. 

 

Did you know…? 

A list of students’ immunization statuses must be kept. 

You must maintain a current list of all enrolled students’ immunization 

statuses including students conditionally enrolled, extended conditionally 

enrolled, out of compliance, with a history of disease, and               

students who are exempt from receiving the required vaccines                                   

(UT Admin Code R396-100-4 [3a]). 
 

For compliance ensure all required             

fields in sections 1-5 are complete. 

1. Student Information: Every USIR needs to have the 
student’s name, gender, date of birth, and name of a 
parent/guardian to be considered a complete record. 
Write in any information that is missing.  

*NOTE – USIIS ID and Student ID Number are not required fields for facilities 
not enrolled in USIIS.  

2. Vaccine Information: All required immunizations must 
be included on the USIR. If there are missing doses on 
the USIR, but proof of the shots are in the student’s 
file, their USIR will still be considered noncompliant for 
documentation. The USIR is the official school record. 
Immunization histories, yellow cards, and other doctor 
forms are supportive documents. 

*NOTE – Due Date is not a required field for facilities not enrolled in USIIS and 

Status is only a required field if they are claiming an immunity (see 4 below).  
 

 3. Exemptions: Fill in the exemption column with the type of exemption “Religious, Personal, or Medical” if the student has 
an exemption. The completion of the online immunization education module at immunize.utah.gov or an in-person 
consultation at a local health department must be done for ALL types of exemptions. Attach a copy of the exemption 
form to the back of the USIR. For a medical exemption, a written notice signed by a licensed healthcare provider must 
also be attached. For more specifics on exemptions refer the Utah Immunization Guidebook at immunize.utah.gov. 

 
4. Proof of Immunity:  Fill in the status column with “immunity” if a child has immunity to measles, mumps, rubella, 

varicella, or hepatitis A due to a previous infection. An immunity document from a healthcare provider must be provided 
to the school. This document must include positive serologic (titer) test results and a signed statement from a healthcare 
provider confirming that, based on positive laboratory test results, the child does not need the MMR, varicella, or 
hepatitis A vaccines.  

 
5. Record Source, Signature & Date: Every USIR needs to be signed and dated. This is the signature of the school personnel 

or health personnel who verified the USIR against the record source. Indicate whether the immunization record 
information was obtained from a statewide registry (e.g., USIIS), the student’s former school, and/or the legally 
responsible individual of the student such as a parents. A USIR without a signature, date, and/or record source is 

considered an incomplete record. 
 

6. USIR Version: The USIR is periodically updated. At enrollment each student in Kindergarten and 7th grade or any existing 
student that receives a required vaccine not on their older USIR version must have the most current USIR version. The 
latest version can be found on the Utah Immunization Program website at immunize.utah.gov/order-educational-
materials. Auto filled forms from USIIS (available to USIIS users) will be the most current version. 

01/2025 

For more information, visit immunize.utah.gov or call 801-538-9450. 

 

Participating USIIS users can print out auto-filled USIRs.  

Two of the main sections, ‘Student Information’ and ‘Vaccine Information’ will be automatically filled in on the USIR 

when printed by a participating USIIS user. To access forms on USIIS go to apps.usiis.org and click on USIIS Immunize.      

To print out blank forms go to immunize.utah.gov/order-educational-materials. 
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